Law Enforcement
Law Enforcement > Local Law Enforcement > Missing Persons > Reporting a Missing Person

Reporting a Missing Person

Contact your local law enforcement agency, first. To assist with the investigation, law enforcement may ask for the following information to include in the missing persons report:

  • Missing person’s full name, date of birth and social security number
  • Details on where they were last seen or heard from
  • Details on any vehicles involved
  • Details on any persons who maybe with them
  • Details on what the person was wearing and any unique characteristics
  • A current photograph

Learn about additional steps to take when a loved one goes missing.

To aid in the recovery of a missing person, law enforcement may request that information about a case be posted on the Ohio Missing Persons website.  Law enforcement can do this by calling the Ohio Attorney General's Office at (800) 325-5604.

The Ohio Missing Persons website posts cases that meet the following criteria:

  • The person has been reported missing to a law enforcement agency and the law enforcement agency has entered the missing person into the National Crime Information Center database; and
  • They are a missing child who is 17 years of age or younger; or
  • They are a missing adult between the ages of 18-21; or
  • They are a missing person 22 years of age or older who is suspected by law enforcement of being endangered or the victim of criminal activity; and
  • The child or adult is missing from Ohio; or
  • The child or adult is missing from another state or country, but believed to be in the state of Ohio.