News Releases
Media > News Releases > October 2023 > AG Yost Honors Local Law Enforcement, Highlights Agency Collaboration at Annual Conference

News Releases

AG Yost Honors Local Law Enforcement, Highlights Agency Collaboration at Annual Conference


(COLUMBUS, Ohio) — With more than 400 in attendance from law enforcement agencies statewide, Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost highlighted the expansion of resources and agency collaboration at the office’s 2023 Law Enforcement Conference.

“We’re at the start of a new era in law enforcement in Ohio, with officers who are better trained and better equipped to deal with the new issues and problems that are certain to arise,” Yost said during his opening remarks. “This means better service for the people of Ohio.”

The annual two-day conference, held Oct. 24-25 at the Hyatt Regency Columbus, featured three keynote speakers, a panel discussion led by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Investigation on multidisciplinary cold-case work, and breakout workshops featuring 30 expert presenters from throughout Ohio.

Yost’s remarks highlighted how the Attorney General’s Office serves as a “force multiplier” to local law enforcement agencies, providing technological assistance such as MX-908 rapid drug-testing equipment and NIBIN crime-gun analysis; investigative help through BCI’s specialized units, including the Cold Case Unit; and training options through the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy (OPOTA), both online and at regional locations.  

Each year during the event, the attorney general also presents the Distinguished Law Enforcement Awards.

The 2023 awards and recipients (with stories on the honorees available here):

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • John Gocala Sr., Chief (ret.), Commander, Instructor: Youngstown State University Police

Victoria Allen Civilian Leadership Award

  • William Chattman, Eastway Behavioral Health (Dayton area)

Community Service Award (two awards given)

  • Morrow County Sheriff John Hinton
  • Officer Shawn Lutz, Columbus Division of Police

Training Award

  • Officer Jerry Orick, Columbus Division of Police

Mark Losey Service Award (two awards given)

  • Lindsey Alli, Columbus Division of Police
  • Chief Timothy Sopkovich, Brunswick Hills Police Department

Group Achievement Award (two awards given)

  • Central Ohio OOCIC/HIDTA Drug Task Force
  • Ohio Northeast Smuggling Enforcement Team (ONSET)

Valor Award (two awards given)

  • Officer Tim Goins, Miami Township Police Department
  • Eric Kocheran, Ross County Sheriff’s Office

Photos of the award winners are available by emailing

To view AG Yost’s remarks in full, click here.

For more information about the keynote speakers and break-out sessions, visit the conference website.

Kelly May: 614-813-7419


Bookmark and Share