Consumer Tips Auto
Individuals and Families > Consumers > Consumer Tips > Consumer Tips Auto


The Ohio Attorney General receives more complaints about motor vehicles than any other topic.

When purchasing a car:

  • Do business only with reputable dealers.
  • Get everything in writing and read the fine print.
  • Take the vehicle for an extended test drive.
  • If a dealer does not provide you a title within 30 days of the purchase date, contact the Ohio Attorney General’s Office .
  • If you trade in a vehicle, confirm with the lender that the lien is paid.
  • Ask about prior damage, defects, and repair history. Check out the vehicle’s history through the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System at
  • Remember, in most cases, you can’t return a car once you drive it off the lot.
  • Ohio’s Lemon Law generally does not apply to used cars. It only covers vehicles within their first year or first 18,000 miles of use, whichever comes first.
  •  Ask a trustworthy mechanic to check the car for problems.
  • “AS IS” means the car is not covered by warranty. You will generally be responsible for repairs.

When getting your car repaired:

  • Do your homework. Check out a repair shop’s reputation with the Ohio Attorney General, the Better Business Bureau at, or the Ohio Board of Motor Vehicle Collision Repair at
  • Ask about warranties and ensure your agreement is put in writing.
  • If the repair costs more than $50, ask for a written estimate. Your permission is required if the cost is more than 10 percent of the original estimate.
  • Save copies of estimates, invoices, work orders, receipts, guarantees, and warranties.