News Releases
Media > News Releases > September 2019 > AG Yost Congratulates Medal of Valor Award Recipients

News Releases

AG Yost Congratulates Medal of Valor Award Recipients


Attorney General Yost with Dayton Police(WASHINGTON) — Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost today attended the presentation of the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor to six Dayton police officers.

Sgt. William C. Knight and officers Brian Rolfes, Jeremy Campbell, Vincent Carter, Ryan Nabel and David Denlinger were awarded the Medal of Valor today during a White House ceremony.

“With danger at the door and their community crying out for help, these officers acted swiftly and effectively to stop further loss of life,” Yost said. “When in moments of unthinkable danger and chaos, these officers relied on their training and instinct to protect their communities – and we will forever be grateful for these heroes’ actions.”    

On Sunday, Aug. 4, the six Dayton officers responded to and eliminated the Oregon District shooter in less than 30 seconds, preventing what could have been many more deaths. Nine people were killed and 27 more were injured in the shooting.

The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor is the highest national award for valor by a public safety officer. The award is given to public safety officers who have exhibited exceptional courage, regardless of personal safety, in the attempt to save or protect human life.   

Steve Irwin: 614-728-5417


Bookmark and Share