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OPINION NOo 73-115 

Syllabus: 

Neither R.C. 4111.07 nor R.C. 4111.0l(B) may be interpret~d 
so as to allow 180 half-days of work in lieu of the 90 days speci­
fied by the legislature. 

To: Martin W. Essex, Supto of Public Instruction, Depto of Education, Columbus, 
Ohio 

By: William J. Brown, Attorney General, November 15, 1973 

You have requested my opinion as to the effect of certain 
portions of Am. Sub. H.B. No, 201, which has been signed by the 
Governor and will become effective December 19, 1973. This Bill 
repeals the present minimum wage law which applies only to women 
and minors (R,C. 4111.01-4111.16) and replaces it with a more 
comprehensive act covering the great majority of employees in the 
State of Ohio. The new Sections of the Revised Code run from 
R.c. 4111.01 through 4111.13. Two of these new sections permit 
the employment of "learners" and "apprentices" at less than the 
prescribed minimum wage for a period not to exceed ninety days. 
R.C. 4111.02(8) and 4111.07. With respect to this aspect of the 
new law, your letter states: 

One of the very significant developments in 
Ohio education has been the recent expansion of 
school supervised work experience for potential 
dropouts. Our concern relates to the 90-day maxi­
mum for licenses issued to learners and apprentices. 
Many school districts in Ohio have implemented various 
kinds of work-study programs in which students work 
for a half-day and study for a half-day throughout 
the school year. 

May Sections 0 4111,02(8) and 4111.071 be inter­

preted to allow 180 half-days of work in lieu of 90 

days full time? 


Amended Sub. H.B. 201 defines the term "employee", so as to 
include all enterprises with gross sales of $95,000 or more. The 
term means any person employed by an employer except those speci­
fically exluded in R.C. 4111.0l(E) 1-8, One of these exclusions 
appears in R.C. 4111.01 (E) (7), which excludes certain student-em­
ployees from the protection of the act, in the following language: 
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(E) Employee means any individual employed 

by an employer but does not include*•* 


* * * * * * * * * 
(7) A member of a police or fire protection 


agency or student eil'luted on a part time or seasonal 

basis by a politica s division of this state***· 


(Emphasis added.) 

Consequently, this section will provide a specific exemption from 
the act for students of work-study programs who are placed with 
political subdivisions. 

As a necessary corollary, students placed with private employees 
with gross sales of over $95,000 would be covered by the act, for the 
maxim of statutory interpretation, expressio unius est exclusio 
alterius, requires that those not expressly included in an exemption 
are excluded. Ohio River Power co. v. Steubenville, 99 Ohio St. 421, 
424-425 (1919)1 Cincinnati v. Roettin1er, lOS Ohio St. 145, 151-152 
(1922); Akron Transportation Co. v. Gander, 155 Ohio St. 471, 478­
480 (1951). 

Although private employers with gross sales of $95,000 or more 
cannot claim they are exempted from the act, they can in certain cir ­
cumstances qualify some of their employees for a lower minimum wage. 
Under R.c. 4111.02(8), an employer may pay a "learner" only eighty 
percent of the prescribed minimum wage for the initial ninety days
of his employment. And R.C. 4111.05 grants the Director of Industrial 
Relations, after consultation with an advisory board, puwcr to promul­
gate regulations defining who are "apprentices", their number and 
length of service. The terms "learner" and "apprentice" are mutually 
exclusive since the former can receive only 80 per cent of the minimum 
wage, while the latter may receive not less than 85 per cent of 
such wage. 

Before applying either R.c. 4111.07 or 4111.02(8), it must 
be determined whether a work-study participant falls within the 
classification of apprentice or learner. The term "learner" is 
defined in R.C. 4111.0l(G) as follows: 

"Learner" means any individual who has had 

less than ninety days previous experience in the 

occupation in which he is employed. An employee 

may be employed for only one learner period. At 

the end of the period, the employer must give the 

employee a certificate showing that learning period 

has been served. No employee may again be required 

to serve a learner period by the same employer 

regardless of differences in types of work performed 

or for any other employer where the work is of a 

substantially similar nature. In no event may the 

number of learners exceed two persons or twenty 

per cent of the persons regularly employed in the 

establishment, whichever is greater, except that 

this limitation does not apply to a new business 

establishment for its first ninety days of opera­

tion. 


The legislative definition of learner takes into account both 
employer and employee factors. An employer cannot classify more 
than 20 per cent of his force as learners, unless such an employer
is a new business or luls less than 10 employees. Thus, in certain 



OAG 73-116 ATTORNEY GENERAL 2-442 

cases, any individual without previous experience may not be 
classified as a learner. Work-study participants without any pre­
vious experience may be classified as learners if (1) the employer 
has not already hired a staff consisting of 20 per cent learners, and 
(2) the participants have not already had more than 90 days experience 
in work of a substantially similar nature. 

Students are not automatically classified as learners, and may 
be classified as apprentices if they meet the regulations adopted 
by tJ1·J Director of Industrial Relations under R.C. 4111.05. 

There is no indication from the wording of either R.C. 4111.01 
(G) or R.C. 4111.07, that the legislature intended the term "day" to 
have any connotation other than its commonly understood meaning. 
The reference to 90 days in R.C. 4111.07 and in R.C. 4111.0l(G) does 
not 2tate that these days must be work days of a specific number of 
hours. If the legislature had intended to limit the licensing period 
to 90 eight-hour working days they would have so provided as they 
did in R.c. 4113.01 by using the words, "work day," and limiting 
such term to eight hours. 

Further, it must be kept in mind the state minimum wage law 
is remedial legislation. Exemptions from remedial legislation 
are always construed narrowly. See, e.g. Van Meter v. s.s. Company, 
5 Ohio St. 2d \85, 187-188 (1966r;-construlng unemployment com­
pensation statutes. 

The legislature passed the minimum wage statute to avoid the 
multiplicity of exemptions and different minimum wages for dif ­
ferent groups. In construing the statute it is important to keep 
this in mind, for as the Ohio Supreme Court said in State v. ~onley,
147 Ohio St. 351, 353 (1947): - ­

It is fundamental in the construction and 

application of statute that not only the purposes 

to be served but the ob ect to be obtained as well 

as the evil to 


In specific answer to your question it is my opinion, and you 
are so advised, that neither R.C. 4lll.07 nor R.c. 4111.0l(B) may 
be interpreted so as to allow 180 half-days of work in lieu of the 
90 days specified by the legislature. 




