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THE REGISTRATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES MAY, IN THE 
CASE OF AN ACCIDENT IN WHICH LESS THAN $200.00 DAM­
AGE WAS DONE TO A MINOR, WAIVE THE REQUIREMENT 
FOR DEPOSIT OF SECURITY UPON A RELEASE FROM LIA­
BILITY EXECUTED BY A NATURAL OR LEGAL GUARDIAN­
THE REGISTRAR MAY WAIVE THE DEPOSIT UPON COURT 
APPROVAL OF A RELEASE FROM LIABILITY REGARDLESS 
OF THE AMOUNT-IF NEITHER A RELEASE BY THE GUAR­
DIAN OR COURT APPROVAL IS OBTAINED IN CLAIMS 
UNDER $200.00, THE PERSON CONCERNED MUST DEPOSIT 
THE REQUIRED SECURITY-§§4509.21, 4509.12, 4509.15 RC. 

SYLLABUS: 

1. Under Section 4509.21, Revised Code, when upon review of a motor vehicle 
accident involving a minor, the registrar of motor vehicles evaluates the injuries or 
damages to said minor in an amount not more than two hundred dollars, the regis­
trar may, upon evidence of a release from liability executed by a natural guardian 
or a·legal guardian on behalf of the minor, and without approval of any court, waive 
the requirement for deposit of security as found in Section 4509.12, Revised Code. 

2. Regardless of the evaluated amount of the injuries to the minor, the registrar 
may, pursuant to said Section 4509.21, waive the deposit of security upon proper 
.court approval of the minor's release of any claim for liability, and the form of the 
approval by the court is governed by the rules applicable in civil actions generally 
to the form, rendition, entry, etc., of judgments and decrees. 

3, Where the evaluated amount of the injuries to the minor is two hundred dol­
lars or less but neither a release from liability from a guardian nor approval of a 
court to a release of claim, · is obtained, then the person concerned must deposit 
the required security, which under Sections 4509.12 and 4509.15, Revised Code, must 
be at least five hundred dollars. 

Columbus, Ohio, February 20, 1962 

Hon. J. Grant Keys, Director 
Department of Highway Safety 
240 Parsons Avenue, Columbus 5, Ohio 

Dear Sir: 

Your request for my opinion reads as follows: 

"The second paragraph of Section 4509.21 of the Revised Code 
provides as follows : 

https://SECURITY-��4509.21
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" 'If the registrar of motor vehicles has evaluated the in­
juries or damages to a minor in an amount not more than two 
hundred dollars the registrar may accept for the purpose of this 
section only, evidence of a release from liability exceuted by a 
natural guardian or a legal guardian on behalf of such minor 
without the approval of any court.' 

"As a result of the provisions contained in this paragraph, con­
siderable difficulty has been encountered since the inception· of the 
law with a great many of the probate and juvenile courts in this state. 
It seems to be the consensus of opinion of these courts that approval, 
as provjded in this particular section, by the court of any releases 
given in behalf of a minor by a natural or legal guardian is not neces­
s.ary, a1;1d that it causes undue hardship and expense to the parties 
involved. 

"The provisions of this section now seem to be the source of 
even greater confusion, in view of the amendment to the law effective 
July 1, 1960, which provides that there must be a minimum evaluation 
of $500.00 in cases involving personal injury. As a result· of this 
amendment there are no longer any cases where the evaluation in 
behalf of a minor would be in an amount of $200.00 or less. 

"In view of the provisions of Section 4509.21 of the Revised Code 
and. the amendment to the law, all releases in behalf of minors for 
personal injuries would require approval by the probate or juvenile 
court before the uninsured party could be relieved of the security 
deposit and suspension requirements of the law. 

"I would like a formal opinion concerning your interpretation of 
these provisions of the law as they pertain to releases· given in behalf 
of minors. 

"Would you also advise as to the form of approval by the court 
that would be acceptable under the provisions of this section without 
requiring the parties to go to the added expense involved fo guardian­
ship cases.'' 

Chapter 4509., Revised Code, pertains to motor vehicle accidents and 

the motor vehicle financial responsibility law. In this regard, Section 

4509.12, Revised Code, as effective July 1, 1960, reads in part: 

" (A) The registrar of motor vehicles upon the expiration of 
twenty days after the receipt of a motor vehicle accident report, re­
quired under sections 4509.01 to 4509.78, inclusive, of the Revised 
Code, shall determine the amount of security which is sufficient to 
satisfy •any judgments for damages resulting from the accident as may 
be recovered against each driver or owner involved in the accident; 
provided that in any accident resulting in personal injury such amount 
shall in no case be less than five hundred dollars. This determination 
shall not be made with respect to drivers or owners who are exempt 



128 OPINIONS 

under sections 4509.14 to 4509.78, inclusive, of the Revised Code from 
the requirements as to security and suspension. 

"* * * * * * * * *" 
(Emphasized language inserted in 1960-128 Ohio Laws, 1221, 1222) 

Section 4509.15, Revised Code, as effective July 1, 1960, reads as 

follows: 

"The security required under section 4509.12 of the Revised 
Code shall be in the form of money, or bonds of the United States, or 
of this state, or a political subdivision of this state, at their par or face 
value, in such amount as the registrar of motor vehicles may require, 
but in no case involving personal injury in an amount less than five 
hundred dollars, or in excess of the limits specified in section 4509.20 
of the Revised Code." (Emphasized language inserted in 1960-128 
Ohio Laws, 1221, 1223) 

Section 4509.21, Revised Code, deals with a release from the require­

ment for deposit of security, reading as follows: 

"A person is relieved from the requirement for deposit of security 
if he is released from liability by all persons injured or damaged in 
the accident, and for this purpose a convenant not to sue has the same 
effect as a release. 

"If the registrar of motor vehicles has evaluated the injuries or 
damages to a minor in an amount not more than two hundred dollars 
the registrar may accept for the purpose of this section only, evidence 
of a release from liability executed by a natural guardian or a legal 
guardian on behalf of such minor without the approval of any court." 

Said Section 4509.21, was enacted in 1951 (124 Ohio Laws, 563, 570) as 

Section 6298-30, General Code, and was amended in 1953 by House Bill 

No. 1 of the 100th General Assembly to read as above. 

Sections 4509.12 and 4509.15, supra, state that in case of personal in­

jury the security must not be in an amount less than five hundred dollars. 

Section 4509.21, supra, deals, however, with a release from the require­

ment to deposit security, not with the required deposit of security which 

must be furnished. 

Thus, the registrar in evaluating the injuries or damages to a minor 

might arrive at an amount of two hundred dollars or less. If the person 

concerned is not relieved of the requirement for deposit of security, how­

ever, the security must be at least five hundred dollars. 
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01 dinarily, the validity of a minor's release of a claim against another 

party is dependent upon whether the minor affirms the release upon his 

arriving at age (See 28 Ohio Jurisprudence 2d, Infants, Section 23, pages 

563 and 564). But in a proper court action, a release of a claim can be 

sanctioned by the court (See 28 Ohio Jurisprudence 2d, Infants, Section 

55, pages 601 and 602). 

The registrar might evaluate the injuries or damages to a minor at 

two hundred dollars or less. If so, upon evidence of a release from liability 

executed by a natural guardian or a legal guardian on behalf of the minor, 

the registrar is authorized by Section 4509.21, supra, to waive the require­

ment of depositing security. Without this specific provision as to a minor, 
the registrar could not waive security without court approval, since under 

the general rule, neither the minor himself nor his parent or guardian could 

validly release the claim of the minor. 

As to the form of a court approval, I can only refer to the statement 

m 28 Ohio Jurisprudence 2d, Infants, Section 67, pages 613 and 614, 

reading: 

"In the main, the form, rendition, entry, etc., of judgments and 
decrees in favor of or against infants are governed by the rules ap­
plicable in civil actions generally. * * *" 

Under the pertinent statutes, if the injuries or damages to the minor 

are evaluated by the registrar at not more than two hundred dollars, but 

neither a release from liability from a guardian nor approval of a court is 

obtained, then the person concerned will be required to deposit security 

which, under Section 4509.12 and 4509.15, supra, must be at least five 

hundred dollars. 

To conclude, it is my opinion and you are advised: 

1. Under Section 4509.21, Revised Code, when upon review of a 
motor vehicle accident involving a minor, the registrar of motor vehicles 

evaluates the injuries or damages to said minor in an amount not more 

than two hundred dollars, the registrar may, upon evidence of a release 

from liability executed by a natural guardian or a legal guardian on behalf 

of the minor, and without approval of any court, waive the requirement 

for deposit of security as found in Section 4509.12, Revised Code. 

2. Regardless of the evaluated amount of the injuries to the minor, 

the registrar may, purusant to said Section 4509.21, waive the deposit of 
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security upon proper court approval of the minor's release of ariy claim 

for liability, and the form of the approval by the court is governed by the 

rules applicable in civil actions generally to the form, rendition, entry, etc., 

of judgments and decrees. 

3. Where the evaluated amount of the injuries to the minor is two 

hundred dollars or less but neither a release from liability from a guardian 

nor approval of a court to a release of claim, is obtained, then the person 

concerned must deposit the required security, which under Sections 4509.12 

and 4509.15, Revised Code, must be at least five hundred dollars. 

Respectfully, 

MARK McELROY 

Attorney General 




