156 OPINIONS
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1. DEATH FROM ACCIDENT-—HOSPITAL—DUTY OF PHY-
SICIAN AND ANY OTHER PERSON WHO HAS KNOWL-
EDGE OF FACT TO IMMEDIATELY NOTIFY CORONER
OF TIME, PLACE, MANNER AND CIRCUMSTANCES.

2. MATERNITY HOSPITAL, LYING-IN HOSPITAL OR
OTHER HOSPITAL WHICH MAINTAINS MATERNITY
WARD—DEATH OF MOTHER OR INFANT—PROCEDURE
UNDER SECTIONS 6268, 62690 G.C.—PHYSICIAN—COR-
ONER—DEAD BODY.

3. STILLBORN CHILD—CHILD ALIVE AT BIRTH—SEC-
TIONS 6268, 6269 G.C. APPLY TO EACH.

SYLLABUS:

1. In case of the death of any person in a hospital, resulting from an accident,
it is the duty of the physician in charge and of any other person having knowledge
of the fact, immediately to notify the coroner of such death, and of the time, place,
manner and circumstances thereof.
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2. Immediately after the death of an inmate of a maternity hospital, lying-in
hospital or other hospital which maintains a maternity ward, whether such inmate
be a woman or an infant born therein or brought thereto, it is the duty of the oper-
ator of such hospital under Sections 6268 and 6269 General Code, immediately to give
notice of such death to the board of health of the district in which such hospital is
located ; and on receipt of such notice, it is the duty of said board of health forthwith
to call the coroner of the county, to hold an inquest on the body of such person unless
a certificate under the hand of a legally qualified physician is exhibited to said board,
certifying that he had personally attended and examined the person so dying and
specifying the cause of death, and the board of health is satisfied that there is no
ground for holding an inquest. In such case, if the coroner is called, the body of
such deceased person shall not be removed without the consent of the coroner.

3. The provisions of Sections 6268 and 6269 General Code, apply to the birth of
a stillborn child, as well as to one alive at birth.

Columbus, Ohio, March 26, 1947

Mrs. Mary F. Abel, Prosecuting Attorney, Logan County
Bellefontaine, Ohio

Dear Mrs. Abel:

I have before me your communication requesting my opinion, and
reading as follows:

“Following is a quotation from a letter written by the
County Coroner to the Directress of Mary Rutan Hospital:

“The state law requires that any mother in the maternity
ward who dies within the first 24 hours after delivery, is a
coroner’s case and the body cannot be removed except on the
authority of the coroner; or any child born in a maternity ward,
who dies within the first 24 hours becomes a coroner’s case and
cannot be removed except on the authority of the coroner; the
body of any still-born child born in the hospital cannot be
removed except on the authority of the coroner.

I am unable to find any state law as outlined in this letter
and I would like your opinion on the following questions:

I. In case of death resulting from an accident, death occur-
ing in the hospital, is it necessary that the coroner be notified?

2. Is it required that in the case of the death of a mother
who dies within 24 hours after delivery that the coroner be noti-
fied and that the body cannot be removed except upon his
authority ?

3. Is it required that in the case of a still-born child or a
child born in a maternity ward who dies within the first 24 hours
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that the coroner shall be notified and the body cannot be removed
except on his authority ?”

Sections 6259 to 6277, inclusive, of the General Code, contain certain
regulations relative to maternity hospitals or homes and lying-in hospitals.
Section 6259 reads in part as follows:

“The commissioner of health may grant licenses to maintain
maternity hospitals or homes, lying-in hospitals, or places where
women are received and cared for during parturition. * * * 7

It will be noted that the scope of this section is not confined strictly
to maternity hospitals or lying-in hospitals, but refers also to “places
where women are received and cared for during parturition”. This
language would appear to include general hospitals, at least, those which
maintain a department or ward for handling maternity cases. I am in-
formed that such is the interpretation given this provision by the state
department of health, which has for a long time required licenses for
general hospitals which do maintain such ward or department. The right
of the state department of health to maintain certain supervision over all
hospitals is set forth in Section 1236-6, General Code, which provides as
follows:

“The commissioner of health shall have power to define and
classify hospitals and dispensaries. Within thirty days after the
taking effect of this act (General Code, Sections 1236-6, 1352,
6259 and 6262), and annually thereafter, every hospital and dis-
pensary, public or private, shall register with, and report to, the
state department of health, on forms furnished by the commis-
sioner of health, such information as he may prescribe.”

Accordingly, referring again to the chapter above mentioned relative
to maternity hospitals, I find in Section 6268, General Code, the following
provision:

“A person licensed as aforesaid, immediately after the death
of an inmate of such boarding house or lying-in hospital, whether

a woman or an infant born therein or brought thereto, shall cause

notice thereof to be given to the board of health of the city, village
or township in which such house or hospital is located.”

Section 6269, General Code, reads as follows:

“Such board of health shall forthwith call the coroner of the
county in which said person died to hold an inquest on the body
of the person, unless a certificate under the hand of a legally
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qualified physician is exhibited to said board by the licensee that
such physician had personally attended and examined the person
so dying, and specifying the cause of death, and the board of
health is satisfied that there is no ground for holding an inquest.”

It follows, therefore, that whenever a woman inmate of such hospital
or an infant born therein or brought thereto, dies, it is the duty of the
licensee immediately to cause notice of such death to be given to the board
of health of the health district in which such hospital is located. There-
upon, unless a certificate is presented to the board of health, signed by
a legally qualified physician, certifying that he has personally attended and
examined the person so dying, and specifing the cause of death, and the
hoard of health is satisfied that there is no ground for holding an inquest,
it becomes the duty of such board forthwith to call the coroner of the
county in which such person died, to hold an inquest on the body of the
deceased.

The only references to a stillborn child which I find in the statutes
are contained in Sections 1261-58 and 1261-59, General Code. Section

1261-58 in so far as pertinent, reads as follows:

“A stillborn child, or one dead at birth, shall be registered
on a standard certificate of stillbirth. The certificate of stillbirth
shall contain such items and information as may be required by
the United States bureau of the census and such additional items
and information as the public health council by regulation may
prescribe. A stillbirth which occurs in Ohio shall not be interred,
deposited in a vault or tomb, cremated, or otherwise disposed of
until a burial permit shall have been issued by the local registrar
of the registration district in which the stillbirth occurs, or the
body is found. * * * ”

Section 1261-59, General Code, relates to the issuance of a burial

permit, and provides in part as follows:

“The body of a person whose death occurs in Ohio shall not
be interred, deposited in a vault or tomb, cremated, or otherwise
disposed of, until a burial permit shall have been issued by the
local registrar of the registration district in which the death oc-
curs. No such burial permit shall be issued by the local registrar
until a satisfactory certificate of death or stillbirth has been filed
with him.”
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This section contains a further provisions, as follows:

“In cases where death has resulted from violence or external
cause the body shall not be removed without the consent of the
coroner.”

This latter provision it will be noted relates to any violent death or
death from external causes. It fits in with the provisions of the law
found in the statutes relating to the office of coroner, particularly Sections
2855-5 and 2855-12, General Code, which read as follows:

“Section 2855-5. When any person shall die as a result of
criminal or other violent means, or by casualty, or by suicide,
or suddenly when in apparent health, or in any suspicious or un-
usual manner, the physician called in attendance shall immediately
notify the office of the coroner of the known facts concerning the
time, place, manner and circumstances of such death, and any
other information, which may be required pursuant to this act.
In such cases, if request for cremation is made, the funeral direc-
tor called in attendance, shall notify the coroner immediately.”

“Section 2855-12. It shall be the duty of any person who
discovers the body or acquires the first knowledge of the death
of any person who shall have died as a result of criminal or other
violent means, or by casualty, or by suicide, or suddenly when in
apparent health, or in any suspicious or unusual manner, to im-
mediately notify the office of the coroner of the known facts
concerning the time, place, manner and circumstances of such
death, and any other information, which may be required, pur-
suant to this act. In such cases, if request for cremation is made,
the funeral director called in attendance, shall notify the coroner
immediately. Any person who shall willfully refuse to report
such a death, or who without an order from the coroner, shall
willfully touch, remove, disturb the body of any such person, or
the clothing or any article upon or near such body, shall be guilty
of a misdemeanor and if convicted shall be fined not less than
one hundred dollars, nor more than five hundred dollars.”

It appears to me that the provisions of the sections above quoted
relative to the birth and death of a child in a maternity hospital apply
to a child born dead as well as to one alive at birth. The law recognizes
the child is “born” in either case. And its death shortly before birth
may just as well give rise to suspicion of a crime having been committed
as if its death took place shortly after its birth. Accordingly, the pro-
cedure set out in those statutes must be followed in case of a stillbirth
occurring in such hospital.
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The provisions of Sections 2855-5 and 2855-12 which I have quoted,
appear to afford a direct and sufficient answer to your first question. These
statutes speak of death resulting from “casualty” which, according to
Webster is synonymous with “accident”.

Accordingly, and in specific answer to your several questions it is
my opinion:

1. In case of the death of any person in a hospital, resulting from
an accident, it is the duty of the physician in charge and of any other
person having knowledge of the fact immediately to notify the coroner
of such death, and of the time, place, manner and circumstances thereof.

2. Immediately after the death of an inmate of a maternity hospital,
lying-in hospital or other hospital which maintains a maternity ward,
whether such inmate be a woman or an infant born therein or brought
thereto, it is the duty of the operator of such hospital under Sections 6268
and 6269, General Code, immediately to give notice of such death to the
board of health of the district in which such hospital is located; and on
receipt of such notice it is the duty of said board of health forthwith to
call the coroner of the county to hold an inquest on the body of such person
unless a certificate under the hand of a legally qualified physician is
exhibited to said board, certifying that he had personally attended and
examined the person so dying and specifying the cause of death, and the
board of health is satisfied that there is no ground for holding an inquest.
In such case, if the coroner is called, the body of such deceased person
shall not be removed without the consent of the coroner.

3. The provisions of Sections 6268 and 6269, General Code, apply
to the birth of a stillborn child, as well as to one alive at birth.

Respectfully,

Huer S. JENKINS,
Attorney General.





