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ATTORNEY GENERAL I

EMBALMER’S LICENSE — APPLICANTS MUST FULLY
COMPLY WITH REQUIREMENTS OF SECTION UNDER
WHICH THEY HAVE REGISTERED—EITHER SECTION
1335-3 OR 1335-32 G. C.

APPLICANT WHO REGISTERED UNDER SECTION 1335-3
G.C. AND THEN REREGISTERED UNDER SECTION 1335-3a
G. C. CAN NOT CLAIM A LICENSE SHOULD BE ISSUED
TO HIM BECAUSE HE MEETS PART OF THE REQUIRE-
MENTS OF EACH SECTION—WHEN REGISTERED
UNDER SECTION 1335-32 G. C. HE MUST FULLY COM-
PLY WITH ALL STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS.

SYLLABUS:

Applicants who have registered for an embalmer’s license under either Section

1335-8 or 1335-3a of the General Code, must fully comply with the requirements of the
section under which they have registered. An applicant who has registered under
Section 1335-3 and then reregistered under Section 1335-3a cannot claim that a license
should be issued to him because he meets part of the requirements of each section.
Having registered under Section 1333-3a, he must fully comply with all requirements
of this section.

Columbus. Ohio, February 3, 1949

Mr. C. L. Stout, Secretary-Treasurer
The Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors
Columbus, Ohio

Dear Sir:

I have before me your request for my opinion, reading as follows:

“We would like to have an opinion, if an applicant registered
and certified under Section 1335-3 and served some time, and then
surrendered his registration certificate and re-registered under the
new law, which became effective September 4, 1947, Section
1335-3a, would be eligible for the period of apprenticeship served,
after completing his embalming school according to the above
section, which requires one year of apprenticeship served after
the completion of Embalming College and upon successfully
passing the embalmers’ examination.”



OPINIONS

Section 1335-3, General Code, reads as follows:

“* % * The board shall fix the qualifications of applicants
and the standard and scope of qualifications for licenses and
specifically shall fix the qualification of applicants as embalmers,
at not less than twelve (12) months’ training in an approved or
accredited school of embalming and prior credits of not less than
four years of high school, two years’ training as an apprentice
under an embalmer duly licensed in the state of Ohio, and proof
to the satisfaction of the board that applicant has actually
embalmed not less than twenty-five (25) dead human bodies and
the board shall further determine and fix the fees, not to exceed
a total aggregate sum of ten dollars to be charged each applicant
for application, registration, examination and issuance of, and
not to exceed the sum of five dollars per each renewal of licenses
of persons desiring to engage in the profession or business of
embalming and/or funeral directing. * * *”

Section 1335-32, General Code, reads as follows:

“From and after the effective date of the act the board shall
issue an embalmer’s license to any applicant who pays a fee
specified by the board not to exceed an aggregate sum of ten
($10.00) dollars for application, registration, examination and
issuance of certificate and license, and not to exceed the sum
of five ($5.00) dollars per year for renewal of such license, and
submits evidence verified by oath and satisfactory to the board
that:
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a. Applicant is twenty-one years of age;
“b. Applicant is a citizen of the United States;
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c. Applicant is of good moral character;

“d. Applicant is a graduate of a first grade high school or
has completed the equivalent education for regular admission to a
college or university accredited by the Ohio department of educa-
tion. ,

“e. Applicant has satisfactorily completed a minimum of
two -years of academic instruction or the equivalent thereof in
semester or quarter hours, in a college or university recognized
by the Ohio department of education. Such academic instruction
must be taken in advance of course in mortuary science.

“f.  Applicant has registered with the board prior to enroll-
ment in an approved or accredited college of mortuary science
recognized by the board, has satisfactorily completed at least
twelve (12) months’ instruction in a prescribed course in mor-
tuary science as approved by the board, and has presented to the
board, a certificate showing the successful completion of said
course. Following the mortuary science college training the
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applicant shall be given an examination by the board and if suc-
cessful shall be issued an apprentice embalmer’s certificate.

“g. Applicant has, following the completion of the educa-
tional requirements outlined herein and previous to serving
apprenticeship, certified with the board as an apprentice embalmer,
has completed at least one (1) year of apprenticeship under an
embalmer duly licensed in the state of Ohio, and has assisted his
master embalmer in embalming at least twenty-five (25) dead
human bodies. Upon presenting evidence verified by oath to
the satisfaction of the board that such apprenticeship has been
satisfactorily completed, the holder of an apprentice embalmer’s
certificate shall be issued an embalmer’s license. * * *”

The most noticeable difference between these two sections is that the
former sets forth in general terms the qualifications necessary to be ful-
filled before an embalmer’s license is to be issued, leaving it within the
board’s discretion to determine the sequence to be followed in meeting
those requirements, while in the latter, the amended section specifically
provides for a step-by-step procedure in fulfilling the qualifications neces-
sary to acquire the license.

Under Section 1335-3, it had been the practice of the embalmer’s
board to require the applicant after registering, to serve the two year
apprenticeship period and then attend a mortuary school for one year.
Under Section 1335-3a, the statute requires that (1) the applicant have
two years of college instruction; (2) the applicant register; (3) attend
mortuary school for one year; (4) take an examination at the completion
of the year’s schooling and receive an apprentice embalmers’ certificate
and (5) serve one year’s apprenticeship.

It is my understanding that the applicant in question registered
under Section 1335-3 and served one year of the two year required
apprenticeship when Section 1335-3a became effective on September 4,
1947. The applicant having had two years of college, reregistered under
Section 1335-3a and has just now completed his one year of mortuary
school. He now wishes to apply the one year apprenticeship service while
registered under Section 1335-3, to meet the one year’s apprenticeship
required under Section 1335-3a. If this is allowed, his license is to be
issued at once. It is over this application that the dispute arises.

It is my opinion that this interpretation cannot be permitted. Unlike
the old section, the amended section requires that the year’s apprenticeship
be served after receiving an apprentice embalmer’s certificate. It is not
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the purpose of this opinion to inquire into the reason for so providing; it
is sufficient that the statute does so specifically provide.

The applicant does not meet the requirements of either act. Under
the original act, he must serve two year’s apprenticeship and one year
mortuary school. He has served only a year’s apprenticeship and, there-
fore, as to him the original act does not apply. Under the amended act,
he must serve the apprenticeship after attending mortuary school, and
with this requirement he does not comply. In effect, what the applicant is
attempting to do here, is to take advantage of both the old and the amended
section. He is trying to make the amended section act retroactively in
his favor. If the amended section had not set forth a definite procedure
to be followed in acquiring the license, the applicant would be on sounder
ground. The statute, however, is specific, and leaves nothing to the dis-
cretion of the board. The applicant, therefore, must abide by the terms
of the statute under which he is now registered.

In specific answer to your question, my opinion is that the applicant
must actively serve one year’s apprenticeship after receiving his apprentice
embalmers’ certificate before the embalniers’ license can be issued to him.

Respectfully,

Hersert S. DUrry,
Attorney General.



