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SYLLABUS:

Where under Chapter 4515, Revised Code, a hospital, on claim properly pre-
sented, has been reimbursed by the state for the cost of care given an indigent person
who has suffered a motor vehicle injury, Section 4515.10, Revised Code, requires
the hospital to take action to recover the full amount of the claim from said person,
or any other person charged with his care and support, when it appears to the
managing officer of the hospital or to the registrar of motor vehicles that said person
or other person is able to pay said full amount; but the hospital is not authorized to
accept less than the amount of the claim in full payment thereof unless the lesser
amount is that realized by court action and all legal remedies have been exhausted.

Columbus, Ohio, August 31, 1962

Hon. Grant Keys, Director, Department of Highway Safety
Columbus, Ohio

Dear Sir:
Your request for my opinion reads as follows :

“"What is the position of the State of Ohio in the event that
a patient, who has received hospital care in compliance with Re-
vised Code, Section 4515.03 to 4515.11 in the amount of $1,203.50,
now demands a “paid in full” receipt upon payment of $300.007

“Upon refusal of the hospital to give a ‘paid in full’ receipt
the patient will not make any payment, with the result that the
hospital cannot reimburse the State of Ohio any portion of the
$1,203.50 paid to the hospital.”

Sections 4515.03 to 4515.11, Revised Code, contain the procedure
by which a non-profit hospital may be reimbursed by the state for
care given to an indigent person who has suffered a motor vehicle injury.
Section 4515.06, Revised Code, provides for the filing of a claim by the
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hospital with the registrar of motor vehicles. Section 4515.08, Revised
Code, authorizes the registrar, if he deems it proper under the law, to pay
the claimant from funds appropriated for that purpose. Section 4515.10,
Revised Code, pertinent in the instant question, provides:

“When the managing officer of a hospital which has received
payment of a claim under section 4515.08 of the Revised Code,
learns that the patient in respect of whom such claim has been
paid, or any other person chargeable by law with his care and
support, has paid or is able to pay the amount thereof, such
managing officer shall notify the registrar of motor vehicles.
Whenever the registrar otherwise learns of facts showing that a
patient in respect of whom payment has been made, or any other
person chargeable by law with the care and support of such
patient, has paid, or is able to pay, the amount of such claim,
the registrar shall notify the hospital which has received such pay-
ment, by a letter addressed to the managing officer thereof, giving
a brief statement of such facts and specifying the amount of such
paid claim, the date of its prior payment, and the name of the
person from whom it may be recovered.

“Within one month after such managing officer has notified
the registrar, or such hospital has been notified by the registrar,
such hospital shall, unless the amount specified in such notice
has been fully paid by the patient, collect such amount of the
balance thereof from such patient or other person chargeable by
law with his care or support; in default of such collection, the
hospital shall file an action against such patient or other person
chargeable by law with such patient’s care and support for the
recovery of the sum specified or the unpaid balance thereof. Such
hospital shall advise the registrar as to the collection of such
amount, or as to the filing of such action and the proceedings
therein. If recovery of judgment is had, and if the amount of such
judgment is not realized, the hospital shall notify the registrar
that all legal remedies for the satisfaction of such judgment have
been exhausted.

“When notice has been given as required by this section,
the registrar shall deduct the amount of the prior payment made
by him to the hospital affected thereby from any payments to he
made to such hospital under section 4515.08 of the Revised Code
on or after two months from the date of such notice, unless such
hospital has advised the registrar as provided in this section that
an action has been filed for the recovery of such amount from the
patient or other person chargeable by law with such patient’s care
and support, that such action has not been finally determined, and
that there is reasonable ground for delay; or unless such hospital
has advised the registrar that such action has been prosecuted
to final judgment, and that all legal remedies for the satisfaction
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of such judgment have been exhausted without. realizing the
amount thereof.”

Under Section 4515.10, supra, the action by the hospital to collect
the amount of the paid claim is commenced after either the managing officer
of the hespital or the registrar has learned. of facts showing that the
patient, or any other person chargeable by law with the care and support
of such patient, is able to pay the amount of the claim. In view of the
use of the words “the amount thereof,” referring to the claim that was
paid, and the words “the amount of such claim,” the notification made by
the managing officer of the hospital or the registrar under that section is
made only when it appears that the patient, or person responsible for the
patient, is able to pay the full amount of the claim.

Section 4515.10, supra, does not authorize a hospital to accept less
than the amount of the claim in full payment thereof, but requires that the
hospital take action to recover the full amount where it appears that the
patient, or other person concerned, is able to pay said full amount. This
would not, however, preclude a hospital from accepting part of the amount
due, the balance still being due and owing when the patient becomes able
to pay. Also, if legal action is taken and the court gives a judgment of
less than the total amount of the claim, and all other legal remedies are
exhausted, the hospital would be authorized to accept the amount of the
judgment.

Thus, in the instant case, the hospital may not accept $300.00 as full
payment for the claim of $1,203.50, but may accept $300.00 as a payment
on the total claim.

Also, if it appears to either the managing officer of the hospital or the
registrar that the patient, or other person concerned, is able to pay the
full amount of the claim, action should be taken under Section 4515.10,
supra, to collect said full amount.

In conclusion, it is my opinion and you are advised that where under
Chapter 4515., Revised Code, a hospital, on claim properly presented, has
been reimbursed by the state for the cost of care given an indigent person
who has suffered a motor vehicle injury, Section 4515.10, Revised Code,
requires the hospital to take action to recover the full amount of the claim
from said person, or any other person charged with his care and support,
when it appears to the managing officer of the hospital or to the registrar
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of motor vehicles that said person or other person is able to pay said full
amount ; but the hospital is not authorized to accept less than the amount
of the claim in full payment thereof unless the lesser amount is that realized
by court action and all legal remedies have been exhausted.

Respectfully,
Mark McELroy
Attorney General





