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1. ARREST—CHIEF PROBATION OFFICER—ISSUED WRIT-
TEN ORDER TO SHERIFF TO ARREST PROBATIONER—
MANDATORY DUTY OF SHERIFF TO EFFECT ARREST—
SECTION 134526 G. C.

2. SHERIFF WHO EFFECTS SUCH ARREST MAY CHARGE
FEE OF $1.00 AND MILEAGE—SECTION 2845 G. C.

SYLLABUS:

1. Where the chief probation officer, acting pursuant to Section 13452-6, Gen-
eral Code, issues a written order to the sheriff for the arrest of a probationer, it is
the mandatory duty of the sheriff to effect such arrest.

2. The sheriff who effects an arrest pursuant to a written order by the chief
probation officer, may charge a fee of $1.00 and mileage as provided in Section 2845,
General Code.

Columbus, Ohio, July 23, 1951

Hon. Joel S. Rhinefort, Prosecuting Attorney
Lucas County, Toledo, Ohio

Dear Sir:

This will acknowledge receipt of your request for my opinion, which
reads as follows:

“Lucas County has recently established a County Probation
Department and the chief probation officer has executed written
orders for the arrest of probationers and delivered the orders for
service to the sheriff of Lucas County under the provisions of
General Code 13452-6.

“The sheriff has refused to make the arrests specified in the
orders unless some provision is made for the payment of his costs.
The clerk of courts has expressed doubt as to his authority to
tax fees for this service in the costs without some record on the
court docket indicating the issuance of such orders.

“We would appreciate your opinion on the following:

(X9

1. Is it the mandatory duty of the sheriff to arrest proba-
tioners on the written orders of the chief probation officer?

I

2. If the answer to the first question is in the affirmative
or if the sheriff voluntarily complies, may fees for this service
be charged by the sheriff and taxed in the costs of the case?”
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In answer to your first question, reference must be had to Section
13452-6, General Code, which reads as follows:

“During such probationary period, any field officer or pro-
bation officer, may arrest the defendant without a warrant and
bring him before the judge or magistrate before whom the cause
was pending., Such arrest may also be made by any sheriff or
other peace officer upon the written order of the chief probation
officer, if the defendant be under the supervision of a county
probation department, or on the warrant of the judge or magis-
trate, or on the order of an officer of the state department of
public welfare, if the defendant be under its supervision.”

Section 2833, General Code, relating to the duties of sheriffs is in
part as follows:

“Each sheriff shall preserve the public peace and cause all
persons guilty of breach thereof, within his knowledge or view,
to enter into recognizance with sureties to keep the peace and
to appear at the succeeding term of the common pleas court of
the proper county and commit them to jail in case of refusal.
He shall return a transcript of all his proceedings with the recog-
nizance so taken to such court and shall execute all warrants,
writs and other process to him directed by proper and lawful
authority. He shall attend upon the common pleas court and
the court of appeals during their sessions, and, when required,
upon the probate court. * * *”

Section 2834, General Code, provides:

“The sheriff shall execute every summons, order or other
process, make return thereof as required by law and exercise
the powers conferred and perform the duties enjoined upon him
by statute and by the commmon law.”

The above provisions allow the chief probation officer or a field officer
to arrest a probationer without a warrant. The Legislature, through the
statutes, has given to the chief probation officer a discretionary power
as to whether he will effect the arrest or will request the sheriff for his
help. A reading of these two statutes, and especially Section 2834, which
makes it the duty of the sheriff to carry out all orders lawfully given to
him, would seem to indicate that the sheriff, upon receipt of the written
order by the chief probation officer, is under a mandatory duty to effect
the arrest of the probationer.

Your second question raises a question as to what fees may be charged
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by the sheriff when effecting this arrest. Reference must be had to
Section 28435, General Code, which reads in part as follows:

"“TFor services hereinafter specified when rendered, the sheriff
shall charge the following fees and no more, which the court or
clerk thereof shall tax in the bill of costs against the judgment
debtor or those legally liable therefor: For the service and return
of the following writs and orders, namely: * * * in addition to
the fee for service and return the sheriff shall be authorized to
charge on each sumwons, writ, order or notice, except as other-
wise specifically provided by law, a fee of eight cents per mile,
going and returning, * * *”

From the reading of this statute, it appears to me quite clearly the
intention of the Legislature that the sheriff may charge a mileage fee for
the necessary travel that he makes in effecting this arrest.

When we come to the question of fees, a perusal of the complete
statute shows that -there is no specific provision for a fee for making
an arrest upon the written order of the chief probation officer. The closest
provision is the one which allows the sheriff to charge $1.00 in executing
a warrant to arrest. Since I have already held above that the sheriff is
under a mandatory duty to arrest upon the written order of a probation
officer, it follows that this order is akin to a warrant, and it seems to me
to be thé clear intention of the law that the sheriff is to be paid a fee
when he is required to perform certain duties.

Accordingly, it is my opinion that the sheriff, when arresting upon a
written order of the probation officer, may charge the $1.00 provided in
Section 2845, General Code, for an arrest with a warrant.

Therefore, in specific answer to your questions, it is my opinion that:

1. When the chief probation officer, acting pursuant to Section
13452-6, General Code, issues a written order to the sheriff for the arrest
of a probationer, it is the mandatory duty of the sheriff to effect such
arrest.

2. The sheriff who effects an arrest pursuant to a written order by
the chief probation officer, may charge a fee of $1.00 and mileage as pro-
vided in Section 28435, General Code.

Respectiully,

C. WirLiam O’NELL
Attorney General



