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HOSPITAL REIMBURSEMENT LAW — SECTIONS 6308-7 TO
6308-15 G. C—INDIGENT PATIENTS INJURED BY OPERATION
OF MOTOR VEHICLE ON PUBLIC WAY—REGISTRAR OF
MOTOR VEHICLES SHALL DETERMINE AMOUNT OF ANY
CLAIM IN ACCORDANCE WITH PER DIEM COST—LESS ANY
AMOUNT COLLECTED BY HOSPITAL FROM PATIENT—
PERIOD OF TIME OF HOSPITALIZATION—WHEN REGIS-
TRAR WITHOUT LEGAL AUTHORITY TO MAKE ANY PAY-
MENT ON PURPORTED CLAIM FOR REIMBURSEMENT.

SYLLABUS:

Under the terms of the Hospital Reimbursement Law (Sections 6308-7 to 6308-13.
inclusive, of the General Code), the registrar of motor vehicles shall determine the
amount of any claim in accordance with the per diem cost of such hospital as certi-
fied to him by the director of health, less any amount collected by the hospital from
the patient. Such certitied rate shall be applied for the full period of time a patient
is hospitalized in making a determination as to whether reimbursement is authorized.
If the amount actually collected by a hospital equals or exceeds the total amount for
which reimbursement would otherwise be authorized, then in such event said registrar
is without legal authority to make any payment on a purported claim for reimburse-
ment.
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Columbus, Ohio, May 12, 1948

Hon. Edward T. Fogo, Registrar, Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Columbus, Ohio.

Dear Sir:
Your request for my opinion reads:

“The Hospital Reimbursement Law, under sections 6308-7 to
15 of the General Code, provides that this Bureau shall reimburse
non-profit hospitals for care rendered indigent patients suffering
injuries caused by the operation of a motor vehicle on a public
way.

“Not anticipated by the Hospital Reimbursement Law when
it was enacted, we have found that a great many persons so in-
jured and hospitalized now have some form of insurance which
defrays the costs of the patient’s first thirty to sixty days care.
The hospitals contend that the patient is not indigent until such
funds are exhaused and, therefore, wish to bill us only for the re-
maining days such patient is hospitalized after the contracted
service terminates. For example, if patient John Doe is hospital-
ized for forty (40) days and has Blue Cross coverage which pays
$8.00 per day for the first thirty (30) days, the hospital will re-
ceive $240.00. The claimant hospital, after patient Doe’s dis-
charge, bills us for his last ten days care. Upon receipt of the
claim the procedure has been to base our computations on patient
Doe’s total hospitalization. We take forty (40) days times $6.00
(if the hospital is eligible to receive our maximum) thus arriving
at $240.00. The hospital is then notified that the claim is not com-
pensable since they have already obtained an amount equal to
what the state would pay. (By this method we would allow $6.00
for the forty-first day and each day thereafter.)

“Your opinion is respectfully requested as to whether we
should base our per diem calculations upon the patient’s hospitali-
zation from admission to discharge, deducting the payments made
through the pre-arranged plan, or whether we should consider
only that period after the service funds are consumed.

“As most hospitalization services pay the hospitals an aver-
age per diem rate in excess of ours and which more adequately
covers their costs, the claimants believe that we are penalizing
them by applying our per diem rate to the full time that the patient
was hospitalized.”

On June 8, 1933 the Ninetieth General Assembly passed an act “To
provide reimbursement for hospitals on account of expenses of the care
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of indigent persons injured in motor vehicle accidents * * *” (115
O. L. 482.) By virtue of the express terms of said act the same was to
remain in full force and effect until March 1, 1935. However, on February
23, 1933, this temporary measure hecame permanent law (116 O. L. 18).
Said law is frequently referred to as the Hospital Reimbursement Law,
and, as noted in your inquiry, is now contained in Sections 6308-7 to

6308-15, inclusive, of the General Code.

It is pertinent to observe at this point that the view is expressed in an
opinion of one of my predecessors which will be found in Opinions of the
Attorney General for 1940, Vol. I, page 329, the act here under considera-
tion was passed for the express purpose of providing reimbursement for
hospitals. In that opinion reference was made to the title of said act, which
has been set forth above, in support of such view with which there 1s com-
plete accord.

Your inquiry presents for determination the extent to which a hospital
is entitled to reimbursement under the circumstances therein related.
Hence it becomes necessary to examine the statutory provisions that pre-
scribe the powers and duties of the registrar of motor vehicles.

Attention will first be directed to Section 6308-7, General Code,
wherein certain terms are defined. In so far as here pertinent said section
provides:

“ x * ‘Hospital’ means any institution, not organized

and/or operated for profit, and registered with the state of Ohio,
department of health, which receives and cares for patients suffer-
ing from motor vehicle injuries, the per diem cost of which care
shall be ascertained and certified in the manner provided in this
act.

“‘Per diem cost’ means the per diem cost of caring for a
patient in a hospital as determined by the uniform annual report
submitted to the state of Ohio, department of health. The rate
certified shall not exceed the sum of six dollars per day. If no
annual report has been filed with the state department of health
as required by Section 1236-6 of the General Code no rate shall
be certified.

*“ ‘Indigent patient’ means a person who has suffered a motor
vehicle injury, is received and cared for in a hospital, is unable
to pay for the cost of such care and whose account therefor re-
mains unpaid at the expiration of ninety days after the termina-
tion of such care; it excludes an employee suffering from a motor
vehicle injury with respect to which he is entitled to the benefits
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of the workmen’s compensation act of this or any other state or
country. A person injurad by the operation of a motor vehicle
shall be deemed unable to pay such charges if it shall appear that,
should an action be brought and judgment secured for the amount
thereof against him, or against any other person legally respon-
sible for his care, execution thereon would be unavailing.”

Section 6308-8, General Code, which bears on the certification of

hospitals, states:

“Within thirty days after this act shall take effect the direc-
tor of health shall certify in duplicate to the registrar of motor
vehicles and the auditor of state, respectively, the name, address
and per diem cost of all hospitals in the state as determined by
uniform annual report. Thereafter from time to time said direc-
tor of health shall in like manner certify any additions to or sub-
tractions from said list or any changes in such per diem costs
which may occur. All claims made under this act shall be audited
and paid in accordance with the per diem costs so certified and
in effect at the time the charge shall have been incurred.”

Section 6308-9, General Code, states what must be done on the part

of a hospital in order to qualify for reimbursement. It reads:

“Each hospital, in order to be entitled to the benefit of this
act, shall make and file with the registrar of motor vehicles
monthly, as of the last business day of each month, a report
under oath showing the name of each sufferer from a motor
vehicle accident, received into and cared for in such hospital dur-
ing the month covered by the report, for whom such hospital may
desire to make claim under this act; the time and place of the
accident or occurrence in which the injury was incurred ; the total
number of days’ care given to such sufferer in the month for
which report is made and in any preceding month or months; the
date of the receipt and discharge of such sufferer or other termi-
nation of such care; and such other facts or information as the
registrar of motor vehicles may require in the form of report
prescribed by him.”

Also to be noted is Section 6308-10, General Code, which provides

inter alia:

“At the time of making any monthly report each hospital
may present a statement of its claim for reimbursement for the
cost of the care of each indigent patient, which claim has matured
within the month covered by the report then due or within any
previous month. Each such claim shall be made in the form pre-
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scribed by the registrar of motor vehicles and shall show the
following :

“’

1. The name of the person to whom care has been given.

(1

2. The number of days’ care, with the dates of reception
into the hospital and discharge or other termination of care.

3. The amount of the claim.

“4. A statement under oath, showing the effort made by
the hospital to collect the amount of the claim from the indigent
patient, and the amount, if any, collected from such patients,
or any other person on his account. * * *

“6. Such other facts and information as the registrar of
motor vehicles may require in the form of claim prescribed by
him.” (Emphasis supplied.)

By virtue of Section 6308-11, General Code, the registrar of motor
vehicles shall examine and audit each claim presented to him under the
provisions of this act. In this connection certain facts are to be deter-
mined, viz.,

X3

1. Whether or not the claim is predicated upon care given
to a person suffering from a motor vehicle injury as defined in
this act.

"

2. Whether or not such person is able to pay the hospital
charges for which the claim is made, within the meaning of this
act.”

Of special importance is Section 6308-12, General Code, which
provides:

“When and if the registrar of motor vehicles shall have
determined that a claim presented to him under the provisions of
this act by a hospital which has complied with said provisions is
made in respect of an indigent patient as evidenced by his findings
under section 5 (G. C. §6308-11) of this act, he shall determine
amount of such claim in accordance with the per diem cost of
such hospital as certified to him under the provisions of this act
less any amount collected from the patient, and shall pay the
amount so ascertained to the claimant from the funds appropri-
ated for that purpose. The registrar of motor vehicles may make
monthly payments to each hospital entitled to receive the same
covering all claims audited and approved by him within the pre-
ceding month.” (Emphasis supplied.)

Mention should also be made of Section 6308-13, General Code,
which provides that if the registrar of motor vehicles shall disapprove any
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claim, except as to the amount thereof, the claimant hospital shall be noti-
fied. In event the same is desired a hearing may be had before said
registrar.

It would appear the principal argument of certain hospitals in
opposition to the manner in which the law is presently being admin-
istered revolves around the contention that a patient is not indigent
until his funds are exhausted. It may well be that if a person is able
to defray the cost of hospitalization for a thirty or sixty day period, or
longer, he does not become “indigent” as that word is commonly under-
stood until such time as his funds are exhausted. However, the General
Assembly, by virtue of Section 6308-7, General Code, has prescribed the
test for determining what is meant by the term “indigent patient.” There
is no authority for adopting some other rule. In the statutory definition
adverted to reference is made to a person whose account for hospitalization
“remains unpaid at the expiration of ninety days” after the termination of
hospital care. An account is unpaid if any amount is owing. Clearly,
therefore, in so far as it bears on the matter of whether a person is an
“indigent patient,” it becomes of no importance that a patient has made
partial payment on account of hospitalization. The making of partial pay-
ments merely reduces the amount for which a patient may be held liabie
and for which collection can be made in event he ultimately becomes
solvent. He is nontheless indigent within the meaning of said Section
6308-7, General Code. It might be here noted that under the terms of
Section 6308-14, General Code, certain procedure is to be folowed if a
patient or person legally chargeable becomes able to pay. There is nothing
in the Hospital Reimbursement Law that is inconsistent with the view now
expressed that if the fotal charge for hospitalization is unpaid at the
expiration of ninety days after termination of care such person must be
regarded as an “indigent patient.”

It is further noted from your inquiry that reference is made to a
patient who has some form of tnsurance which defrays the cost of the first
thirty or sixty days care. This statement is then followed by an example
which refers to partial payment as the result of “Blue Cross coverage.” It
is not necessary, for the purposes of this opinion, to determine whether
coverage of the nature just noted can be regarded as insurance for the
reason that, in so far as concerns the duties of the registrar of motor
vehicles, the source from which the cost of hospitalization is partially de-
frayed is of no consequence. IHowever, the fact that a charge for hos-
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pitalization is partially defrayed, does become of importance without
regard to such source. This matter of partial payment is of significance
because of the provisions of Section 6308-12, General Code, dealing with
payment of claims. Under the terms thereof the registrar of motor
vehicles shall determine the amount of the claim taking into consideration
the “amount collected from the patient.” No difficulty is experienced
in formulating the conclusion that the “amount collected from the patient”
would also include amounts paid by “any other person on his account.”
While not found in Section 6308-12, General Code, the phrase last quoted
does appear in Section 6308-10, General Code.

If the amount paid for the account of a patient were not taken into
consideration a ridiculous situation would result. Such a situation was
clearly not contemplated notwithstanding the fact that the laws here under
consideration were intended to provide for the reimbursement of hos-
pitals. A hospital that charged a patient at the rate of $6 per diem and
was authorized to be reimbursed to such extent might be paid $100 by some
person other than the pafient in partial discharge of a bill of $150. In
such event it would have to be conceded that the liability of the patient
to the hospital could never exceed $50. If the registrar of motor vehicles
were obligated to pay the hospital $150 it immediately becomes apparent
the hospital would thereby be collecting a total of $250 on account of a
$150 bill. This would certainly result in torturing the meaning of the
word “‘reimbursement.”

There is no justification for the conclusion that a patient who suffers
an injury growing out of a motor vehicle accident and as a result is
required to have hospital attention for forty consecutive days should be
regarded as hospitalized on two separate occasions. It seems to me that
such would, in effect, be the situation if recognition were given to the
contention of certain hospitals that reimbursement is to be made at the
per diem rate for some period of time in excess of thirty days. This same
reasoning would, of course, be applicable in the case of care for any par-
ticular number of days with reimbursement being sought for the days not
paid for by the patient or by someone on his behalf.

There is no authority in law for the registrar of motor vehicles, in
the light of the express language of Section 6308-12, General Code, to
disregard amounts collected from a patient in determining the amount for
which a hospital should be reimbursed. It may well be that since the
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enactment of the Hospital Reimbursement Law the cost of hospitalization
has increased materially and that six dollars, which the law now provides
is the maximum amount that can be paid by way of per diem reimburse-
ment, is now inadequate. However, if the rate provided for by statute
is to be changed it will have to be done by legislative action in order to
correct the situation.

There is this additional aspect of the matter to be taken into considera-
tion. It is stated in State, ex rel. Locher v. Menning, 95 O. S., 97, at

page 99:

“* * * The authority to act in financial transactions must be
clear and distinctly granted, and, if such authority is of doubtful
import, the doubt is resolved against its exercise in all cases where
a financial obligation is sought to be imposed upon the county.”

This statement would be equally applicable in the case of the expendi-
ture of state funds. Further touching on this proposition of law is State,
ex rel. Bentley & Sons Co. v. Pierce, g6 O. S. 44 and State, ex rel. Smith
v. Maharry, 97 O. S. 272.

In specific answer to your inquiry you are therefore advised as

follows:

Under the terms of the Hospital Reimbursement Law (Sections
6308-7 to 6308-15, inclusive, of the General Code), the registrar of
motor vehicles shall determine the amount of any claim in accordance
with the per diem cost of such hospital as certified to him by the director
of health, less any amount collected by the hospital from the patient.
Such certified rate shall be applied for the full period of time a patient is
hospitalized in making a determination as to whether reimbursement is
authorized. 1f the amount actually collected by a hospital equals or
exceeds the total amount for which reimbursement would otherwise be
authorized, then in such event said registrar is without legal authority to
make any payment on a purported claim for reimbursement.

Respectfully,

HucH S. JenkiNs,
Attorney General,





