1458

OPINIONS

945.

APPROVAL, BONDS OF COPLEY TOWNSHIP RURAL SCHOOL DISTRICT, SUMMIT COUNTY—\$175,000.00.

COLUMBUS, OHIO, September 30, 1929.

Retirement Board, State Teachers Retirement System, Columbus, Ohio.

946.

DRIVER—MOTOR VEHICLE—DUTIES IMPOSED WHEN ACCIDENT OR COLLISION OCCURS—SUFFICIENCY OF STOPPING UNDER SECTION 12606, GENERAL CODE DEPENDENT ON CIRCUMSTANCES OF EACH CASE.

SYLLABUS:

- 1. Under the terms of Section 12606, of the General Code, a person operating a motor vehicle upon the public roads or highways in case of an accident to or collision with persons or property, due to the driving or operation thereon of his motor vehicle, having knowledge of such accident or collision, must return to the place of the accident or collision and there remain for a sufficient time to give the person injured, or to any other person or persons a reasonable opportunity to request of him his name and address, or if he is not the owner, the name and address of the owner of such motor vehicle, together with the registration number of such motor vehicle.
- 2. Whether or not the stopping by a driver of a vehicle upon the highway after an accident or collision is a sufficient compliance with Section 12606, of the General Code, depends upon the circumstances in each particular case.

COLUMBUS, OHIO, September 30, 1929.

HON. MICHAEL B. UNDERWOOD, Prosecuting Attorney, Kenton, Ohio.

DEAR SIR:—I am in receipt of your letter of recent date, which is in part, as follows:

"We submit the following for your opinion:

Section 12606 as amended by the last Legislature reads as follows:

'In case of an accident to or collision with persons or property upon any of the public roads or highways, due to the driving or operation thereon of any motor vehicle, the person so driving or operating such motor vehicle and having knowledge of such accident or collision, shall stop and upon request of the person injured or any person, give such person his name and address, and in addition thereto if not the owner, the name and address of the owner of such motor vehicle together with register number of such motor vehicle.

Any person who violates the provisions of this section shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be fined not less than \$200.00 and imprisoned in the county jail or workhouse not more than six months or both.'