INITIATIVE PETITION

To the Attorney General of Ohio: Pursuant to Ohio Revised Code § 3519.01(A), the
undersigned electors of the State of Ohio, numbering in excess of one thousand, hereby
submit to you the full text of a proposed Amendment to the Ohio Constitution and a
summary of the same.

TITLE

Raise the Wage Ohio

SUMMARY

The Amendment would amend Article 11, Section 34a of the Ohio Constitution to increase the state minimum
wage rate. Specifically, the Amendment would:

e Increase the state minimum wage rate specified in Section 34a that was effective January 1, 2007
to $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2025.

e After 2025, increase the state minimum wage rate in equal increments annually for three years
to reach $15 per hour on January 1, 2028.

o Effective January 1, 2025, change the date January 1, 2008 in Section 34a to January 1,
2029 for annually increasing in accordance with language in the section the state minimum
wage rate for inflation. The amendment would replace inflation adjusted annual increases in
2025, 2026, 2027, and 2028 with fixed dollar amounts. Inflation adjusted annual increases
would then begin again January 1, 2029.

e Require that beginning January 1, 2029, an employer shall pay an employee who receives tips
the full minimum wage rate required by this section with tips on top.

e For tipped employees, Section 34a currently provides that an employer may pay an
employee less than, but not less than half, the minimum wage rate. The amendment repeals
this language and provides that the employer may pay no less than the minimum wage rate
required by this section minus four dollars beginning January 1, 2025, the minimum wage
rate required by this section minus three dollars beginning January 1, 2026, the minimum
wage rate required by this section minus two dollars beginning January 1, 2027, and the
minimum wage rate required by this section minus one dollar beginning January 1, 2028, if
the employer is able to demonstrate that the employee receives tips that combined with the
wages paid by the employer are equal to or greater than the minimum wage rate for all hours
worked, with tips on top of this hourly wage.

e Provide that in ali cases where an employee is permitted by their employer to accept tips, the
employee is entitled to the amount of the tips in full or in accordance with a pooled tip policy
for non-management employees in compliance with federal law.

e Repeal the current provision in Section 34a that the State may issue licenses to employers
authorizing payment of a wage rate below the minimum required by the section to individuals
with mental or physical disabilities that may otherwise adversely affect their opportunity for
employment.

e Repeal the current provision in Section 34a that individuals under the age of 16 shall be paid
a wage rate of not less than that established under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

e Amend the existing definition of “employee” in Section 34a to include every instance in which
an employer suffers or permits an individual to work but maintain the current exclusions for
individuals employed in or about the property of the employer or individual’s residence on a
casual basis and for employees of a solely owned and operated family business who are
family members of an owner.

e Maintain an existing provision that employees of businesses with annual gross receipts under
an annually adjusted amount shall be paid a wage rate not less than that established under
the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

e Provide that the amendments to the section shall take effect January 1, 2025.
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FULL TEXT OF PROPOSED AMENDMENT

Be it Resolved by the People of the State of Ohio that Article Il of the Ohio Constitution is
hereby amended to add the following language to Section 34a shown underlined and in
all capital letters below, and repeals the existing language shown by strikethrough.
Current language that is not changed appears without underline or strikethrough:

Article I, Section 34a

Except as provided in this section, every employer shall pay their employees a wage rate
of not less than six-dellars-and-eighty-five-cents TEN DOLLARS AND FIFTY CENTS per
hour beginning January 1, 2007 2025. THEREAFTER, THIS STATE MINIMUM WAGE
RATE SHALL BE INCREASED IN EQUAL INCREMENTS ANNUALLY FOR THREE
YEARS TO REACH FIFTEEN DOLLARS PER HOUR BY JANUARY 1, 2028. On the
thirtieth day of each September, beginning in 2607 2028, this state minimum wage rate
shall be increased effective the first day of the following January by the rate of inflation
for the twelve month period prior to that September according to the consumer price index
or its successor index for all urban wage earners and clerical workers for all items as
calculated by the federal government rounded to the nearest five cents. Employees under
the—age-of-sixteen—and-employees—of businesses with annual gross receipts of two
hundred fifty thousand dollars or less for the preceding calendar year shall be paid a wage
rate of not less than that established under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act or its
successor law. This gross revenue figure shall be increased each year beginning January
1, 2008 by the change in the consumer price index or its successor index in the same
manner as the required annual adjustment in the minimum wage rate set forth above
rounded to the nearest one thousand dollars. EMPLOYERS SHALL PAY TIPPED
EMPLOYEES THE FULL MINIMUM WAGE RATE REQUIRED BY THIS SECTION IN
ADDITION TO TIPS THE EMPLOYEE RECEIVES SUBJECT TO THE FOLLOWING:
BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2025, THE EMPLOYER MAY PAY A RATE NO LESS THAN
THE MINIMUM WAGE RATE REQUIRED BY THIS SECTION MINUS FOUR DOLLARS,
BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2026 NO LESS THAN THE MINIMUM RATE REQUIRED BY
THIS SECTION MINUS THREE DOLLARS, BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2027 NO LESS
THAN THE MINIMUM WAGE RATE REQUIRED BY THIS SECTION MINUS TWO
DOLLARS, AND BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2028 NO LESS THAN THE MINIMUM

WAGE RATE REQUIRED BY THIS SECTION MINUS ONE DOLLAR, Anempleyer—may

thrs—eeetlen |f the employer is able to demonstrate that the employee receives tlps that
combined with the wages paid by the employer are equal to or greater than the minimum
wage rate for all hours worked. BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2029, AN EMPLOYER SHALL
PAY AN EMPLOYEE WHO RECEIVES TIPS THE FULL MINIMUM WAGE RATE
REQUIRED BY THIS SECTION WITH TIPS ON TOP. IN ALL CASES WHERE AN
EMPLOYEE IS PERMITTED BY THEIR EMPLOYER TO ACCEPT TIPS, THEY SHALL
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BE ENTITLED TO THE TIPS IN FULL OR IN ACCORDANCE WITH A POOLED TIP
POLICY FOR NON-MANAGEMENT EMPLOYEES IN COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL
LAW. The provisions of this section shall not apply to employees of a solely family owned
and operated business who are family members of an owner. The-state—may—issue

licenses-to-employers-authorzng payment of a wage rale below-thab-reguired-by-this
sectonto-thdividuals—with—mental-or physical disabiliies that-may-etherwise-adversely

affectthei-oppotrtuniy-tor-employment.

ol ” o » o

As used in this section: “employer,” “employee,” “employ,” “person” and “independent
contractor” have the same meanings as under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act or its
successor law, except that "employer" shall also include the state and every political
subdivision and "employee" SHALL INCLUDE EVERY INSTANCE IN WHICH AN
EMPLOYER SUFFERS OR PERMITS AN INDIVIDUAL TO WORK, BUT shall not include
an individual employed in or about the property of the employer or individual's residence
on a casual basis. Only the exemptions set forth in this section shall apply to this section.

An employer shall at the time of hire provide an employee the employer's name, address,
telephone number, and other contact information and update such information when it
changes. An employer shall maintain a record of the name, address, occupation, pay rate,
hours worked for each day worked and each amount paid an employee for a period of not
less than three years following the tast date the employee was employed. Such
information shall be provided without charge to an employee or person acting on behalf
of an employee upon request. An employee, person acting on behalf of one or more
employees and/or any other interested party may file a complaint with the state for a
violation of any provision of this section or any law or regulation implementing its
provisions. Such complaint shall be promptly investigated and resolved by the state. The
employee's name shali be kept confidential unless disclosure is necessary to resolution
of a complaint and the employee consents to disclosure. The state may on its own
initiative investigate an employer's compliance with this section and any law or regulation
implementing its provisions. The employer shall make available to the state any records
related to such investigation and other information required for enforcement of this section
or any law or regulation implementing its provisions. No employer shall discharge or in
any other manner discriminate or retaliate against an employee for exercising any right
under this section or any law or regulation implementing its provisions or against any
person for providing assistance to an employee or information regarding the same.

An action for equitable and monetary relief may be brought against an employer by the
attorney general and/or an employee or person acting on behalf of an employee or all
similarly situated employees in any court of competent jurisdiction, including the common
pleas court of an employee's county of residence, for any violation of this section or any
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law or regulation implementing its provisions within three years of the violation or of when
the violation ceased if it was of a continuing nature, or within one year after notification to
the employee of final disposition by the state of a complaint for the same violation,
whichever is later. There shall be no exhaustion requirement, no procedural, pleading or
burden of proof requirements beyond those that apply generally to civil suits in order to
maintain such action and no liability for costs or attorney's fees on an employee except
upon a finding that such action was frivolous in accordance with the same standards that
apply generally in civil suits. Where an employer is found by the state or a court to have
violated any provision of this section, the employer shall within thirty days of the finding
pay the employee back wages, damages, and the employee's costs and reasonable
attorney's fees. Damages shall be calculated as an additional two times the amount of
the back wages and in the case of a violation of an anti-retaliation provision an amount
set by the state or court sufficient to compensate the employee and deter future violations,
but not less than one hundred fifty dollars for each day that the violation continued.
Payment under this paragraph shall not be stayed pending any appeal.

This section shall be liberally construed in favor of its purposes. Laws may be passed to
implement its provisions and create additional remedies, increase the minimum wage rate
and extend the coverage of the section, but in no manner restricting any provision of the
section or the power of municipalities under Article XVIII of this constitution with respect
to the same.

If any part of this section is held invalid, the remainder of the section shall not be affected
by such holding and shall continue in full force and effect.

THE ABOVE AMENDMENTS TO THIS SECTION SHALL TAKE EFFECT JANUARY 1,
2025.
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