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OPINION NO. 66-121 

Syllabus: 

A student must be examined and licensed by the State 
Board of Cosmetology as a cosmetologist before continuing 
with the additional 250 hours of training necessary to ap­
ply for a managing cqsmetologist's license. 

To: E. E. Schaedler, Secretary, Ohio State Board of Cosmetology, Columbus, 
Ohio 

By: William B. Saxue, Attorney General, July 13, 1966 

Your recent request for my opinion stated the following 
problem: 

"There is a difference of opinion 
between schools of cosmetology and the 
State Board of Cosmetology as to whether 
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a student enrolled in a licensed schocl 
under 1500 hours can continue with the 
250 additional hours before taking the 
State Board Examination. 

The requirements which must be s2tisfied by an applicant 
for a cosmetologist's license are prescribed by subsection (A), 
Section 4713.04, Revised Code, which reads as follows: 

"(A) Applicants for a cosmetolo­
gist's license shall be at lec>st six­
teen years of age, of good moral char-
2cter, have the equivalent of an Ohio 
public school eighth grade education, 
and have received a total of not less 
than fifteen hundred hours of instruc­
tion in the several branches of cos­
metology, including subjects relating 
to sanitation and sterilization, in a 
licensed school of cosmetology in 
Ohio or otherwise pursuant to credits 
given by the state board as provided 
in section 4713.02 of the Revised Cod~, 
provided, any applicant who was a stu­
dent in such school prior to the effec­
tive date of this act shall only be 
reauired to receive the number of hours 
of instruction reauired prior to such 
date. When determining the total hours 
of instruction received by an applicant 
for a cosmetologist license, the state 
board of cosmetology shall not take in­
to account more than eight hours of in­
struction per day nor instruction re­
ceived more than five years prior to 
the time that an application is filed." 

To become licensed as a cosmetologist an applicant must 
satisfy the statutory requirements above and perform satisfac­
torily on the examination given by the Ohio State Board of 
Cosmetology. This examination is provided for in Section 
4713.06, Revised Code, and is given quarterly in the months 
of February, May, August, a.nd Nc,vember so there is never an 
extended period of time before an examination is given. It 
is estimated by the Board that approximately six thousand 
examinations are given each year. Of this number there is 
always a number of failures, and there are many instances 
where it has been necessary for an applicant to return to 
school for additional training before being able to pass 
the examination and become licensed. The legislature 
recognized that even a short time lapse prior to the examina­
tion might be a hardship for some applicants and has provided 
in subsection (F), Section 4713.04, Revised Code, for a tern-



2-227 OPINIONS 1966 Opin. 66-121 

porary work permit which enables an applicant for examination, 
who has not previously failed an examination, to work in a 
licensed beauty salon until the first examination thereafter. 

A managing cosmetologist is something more than a cos­
metologist, the statutory requirements for license being set 
out in subsection (C), Section 4713.04, Revised Code, as fol­
lows: 

"(C) Applicants for a managing cos­
metologist's license shall be of good 
moral character, have the equivalent of 
an Ohio public school eighth grade edu­
cation, and shall have practiced as a 
cosmetologist in a licensed beauty sa­
lon in this or another state of the 
United States or the District of 
Columbia for at least one year, or have 
completed two hundred fifty hours 
additional in a licensed school of cos­
metology in this state in subjects rel­
ative to advanced cosmetology, business 
management, and supervision. Certifi­
cation of applicant's completion of 
one year's experience shall be made to 
the state board of cosmetology by the 
licensed managing cosmetologist of the 
licensed beauty salon in which the ap­
plicant has been employed, or certifi­
cation of completion of the prescribed 
course of two hundred fifty additional 
hours shall be made to the board by 
the school of cosmetology in this state. 
Upon either of the foregoing certifica­
tions, the board shall issue a managing 
cosmetologist license tc the applicant." 

(Emphasis added) 

There is no statutory requirement for examination of 
applicants for the license of "managing cosmetologist." Upon 
certification of the additional training of two hundred fifty 
hours or one year of experience as a cosmetologist, the board 
shall issue the license upon application. Since the reauire­
ient's for a managing cosmetologist are set out by the l~gis­
lature in terms of an "additional" two hundred fifty hours 
of schooling or a year of practice in a licensed salon, it 
is clear that she is to be considered as a more accomplished 
cosmetologist who is possessed of additional skills through 
practice. It seems to me that to allow a student to continue 
with the additional hours necessary for the manager's license 
prior to an examination as to basic skills and training of 
the cosmetologist is not the intent of this legislation. The 
additional training of experience necessary for the managing 
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cosmetologist's license necessarily should come after the fact 
of passing an examination as to the basic skills and any other 
interpretation leads to an unnatural result in that there is 
no guarantee of an applicant's being capable of 9assing the 
examination at fifteen hundred hours or at seventeen hundred 
fifty hours and the fact that one has been a student for 
seventeen hundred fifty hours is not necessarily evidence 
that such person is a more experienced cosmetologist and 
therefore eligible for the managing cosmetologist's license. 
The inadvisability for the student and the unreasonableness 
of another procedure in light of the statute leads me to 
conclude that the student must successfully pass the examina­
tion and obtain a cosmetologist's license before continuing 
with the additional two hundred fifty hours which are required 
for a managing cosmetologist. 

Therefore, it is my opinion and you are hereby advised 
that a student must be examined and licensed by the State 
Board of Cosmetology as a cosmetologist before continuing 
with the additional 250 hours of training necessary to apply 
for a managing cosmetologist's license. 




