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WHERE A JUDGMENT IS RENDERED PRIOR TO THE ENACT­
MENT OF A LAW CHANGING THE AMOUNT REQUIRED TO 
SATISFY A JUDGMENT, THE PRIOR RULES GOVERN THE 
JUDGMENT AND NOT THE NEW AMENDMENTS-THIS IS 
ALSO TRUE .OF SECURITY DEPOSITS MADE PRIOR TO THE 
ENACTMENT OF A NEW AMENDMENT- §4509.41 RC., 128 
OHIO LAWS, 1221 (1228), §§1.20, 4509.29 RC. 

SYLLABUS: 

1. Where a judgment is rendered in a case involving an accident occurring 
prior to July 1, 1960, the amount required to satisfy the judgment under Section 
4509.41, Revised Code, is governed by the provisions of that section as existing at 
the time of the accident, and not by the section as amended July 1, 1960 (128 Ohio 
Laws 1221, 1228). 

2. The provisions of Section 4509.29, Revised Code, as effective July 1, 1960, 
do not apply to a deposit made prior to that date; and where, prior to that date, a 
security deposit was made with the registrar of motor vehicles by an uninsured 
person, such deposit should have been returned to that person upon the expiration 
of one year from the date of deposit provided the other conditions of Section 450929, 
Revised Code, as existing at the time the deposit was made, were met. 

https://AMENDMENT-�4509.41
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Columbus, Ohio, February 27, 1962 

Hon. J. Grant Keys, Director 

Department of Highway Safety 

240 South Parsons, Avenue, Columbus, Ohio 

Dear Sir: 

I have before me your request for my opinion which reads as follows: 

"Kindly be advised that Section 4509.41 of the Revised Code, 
prior to amendment, provided that a judgment is considered to be 
satisfied for the purpose of this law if the minimum amount re­
quired by law were paid on the judgment, even though such 
amount would not satisfy the judgment in full. These provisions 
were in effect on the date of the accident out of which the judgment 
arose. 

"However, on the date of the judgment the minimum require­
ment of the law had been increased from $5,000.00 to $10,000.00. 
The judgment was rendered in the amount of $8,250.00 plus costs. 
$5,000.00, which is the minimum requirement in effect on the date 
of the accident out of which the judgment arose, has been paid on 
the judgment. 

"The question is-should the judgment be considered satisfied 
in view of the payment of $5,000.00, or should the requirement be 
considered to be $10,000.00, as provided in the law in effect on the 
date of the judgment." 

Also to be considered is a related question set forth in a subsequent 

letter from you which reads in part as follows : 

"The following situation exists: a security deposit was made 
with the Registrar of Motor Vehicles by an uninsured motorist 
when the law required that the security deposit could be held only 
for a period of twelve months from the date of the deposit. How­
ever, the law was amended prior to the expiration of the twelve­
month period, and on that date the law provided that a security 
deposit should be held for a period of twenty-four months from the 
date of the deposit. 

"The question is-should the security deposit be refunded in 
accordance with the provisions of the law which were in effect on 
the date of the deposit, or the provisions of the law which were in 
effect on the date that the depositor was entitled to the refund of 
the deposit." 

https://10,000.00
https://5,000.00
https://5,000.00
https://8,250.00
https://10,000.00
https://5,000.00
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The legislature, in 1959, amended Section 4509.41, Revised Code, 128 

Ohio Laws, 1221 (1228), effective July 1, 1960, to provide: 

" (A) Judgments are satisfied for the purpose of sections 
4509.01 to 4509.78, inclusive, of the Revised Code, in each of the 
following cases : 

" ( 1 ) When ten thousand dollars has been credited upon any 
judgments in excess of that amount because of bodily injury to or 
death of one person as a result of any one accident; 

"(2) When the sum of twenty thousand dollars has been 
credited upon any judgments in excess of that amount because of 
bodily injury to or death of two or more persons as the result of 
an,Y one accident; 

" (3) When five thousand dollars has been credited upon 
any judgments rendered in excess of that amount because of 
injury to property of others as a result of any one accident. 

" (B) Payments made in settlements of any claims because 
of bodily injury, death, or property damage arising from such 
accident shall be credited in reduction of the amounts provided for 
in this section." 

The amendment increased the amount required to be paid upon a 
judgment arising out of a motor vehicle accident from five thousand to ten 

thousand dollars in cases where injury or death resulted to one individual 

( division (A) ( 1) ) and from ten thousand to twenty thousand dollars in 

cases where injury or death resulted to more than one individual ( division 

(A) (2) ). 

'the question here presented is whether Section 4509.41, Revised Code, 

as effective July 1, 1960, should be applicable where the accident occurred 

prior to that date, or whether the section as effective on the date of the 

accident should prevail. To resolve this question, it is necessary to deter­

mine whether the legislature intended to give retrospective effect to the 
July 1, 1960 amendments, requiring an increased payment on judgments 

arising out of motor vehicle accidents. 

The purpose of the motorist financial responsibility law is to eliminate 

the financially irresponsible motorist from the highways by requiring the 

driver or owner of a motor vehicle to be able to respond for damages or 

injuries caused by the operation of the vehicle. Essentially, the law is de­

signed to encourage motorists to maintain liability insurance and to compel 

certain persons who have evidenced their negligence, either through con-
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viction of certain offenses, rendition of judgment or conviction under the 

point system to maintain proof of financial responsibility. Iszczttkiewicz v. 

Universal Underwriters Ins. Co., 13 Ohio Opinions, 2d, 132, 182 F. Supp. 

733. 

If the July 1, 1960 amendments are applicable to a motorist who was 

involved in an accident prior to the amendment and who had liability insur­

ance which would have _protected him under the existing law at the time of 

the accident, such motorist could be compelled to pay a judgment in excess 

of his policy limits or be subject to suspension of license and registration 

privileg~s. Also, an individual who had made a deposit of the maximum 

amount required under the existing law could be compelled to pay the 

additional amount up to the new limits or lose his license and registration 

privileges. I do not believe that the legislature intended such a result. 

I am of the opinion that to apply the new law to a case where the 

accident occurred prior to the effective date of the new law would result in 

a retroactive operation of the law. In SO Ohio Jurisprudence, 2d~ 316, 

Statutes, Section 339, it is stated: 

"Upon principle, every statute which takes away or impairs 
vested rights, acquired under existing laws, or which creates a new 
obligation, imposes a new duty, or attaches a new disability in 
respect to past transactions or considerations must be deemed 
retrospective." 

It is a fundamental rule of construction that statutes are to be construed 

to insure prospective rather than retrospective operation with the thought 

that the legislature intended to prevent and avoid injustice. SO Ohio Juris­

prudence, 2d, 316, Statutes, Section 339. The legislature has not evidenced 

any i_ntention that Section 4509.41, Revised Code, as amended July 1, 1960, 

should have retrospective operation and it would appear that the very pur­

pose of the law would be defeated, were such an interpretation to be placed 

on the law. I have been unable to find any Ohio cases which rule directly 

upon the question presented by your request, however, the Supreme Court 

of California in Watson v. State Division of Motor Vehicles, 212 California 

279, ·293 Pacific 481, ruled that where an individual was involved in an 

accident before the effective date of the California Motorist Financial Re­

sponsibility Law and a judgment was rendered after the effective date of 

the law the motorist could not be compelled to pay the judgment in the 

amount prescribed by the statute. The California court said at page 287 

of its opinion: 
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"* * * The penalty imposed-suspension of license-is im­
posed because of negligent driving. If the penalty were imposed 
simply for failure to pay a judgment, and had no relation to negli­
gent operation of motor vehicles, it would be unconstitutional. It 
follows that since the judgment was predicated on an act of negli­
gence committed before the act went into effect, and since the act 
adds a new penalty for that negligence, under well-settled prin­
ciples, the act can have no application to acts of negligence com­
mitted before its passage. Any other interpretation would violate 
the well-settled rule in reference to the prospective operation of 
such statutes." 

Also to be considered in this respect is the ruling of the Illinois Su­
preme Court in Manczak v. Carpenter, 3 Ill., 2d, 556, 121 N.E. 2, holding 

that a person could not be subjected to a mandatory suspension provision 

enacted after the offense but before the filing of an affidavit in the trial 

court. The court in the M anczak case at page 560 stated: 

"Beyond these differences between the old and the new stat­
utes, is the fact that in order to construe the new statute as applic­
able to an offense committed before its effective date, we would 
have to hold that the General Assembly intended that the conse­
quences attached to an offense should depend, not upon the quality 
of the conduct which constituted the offense, but upon the random 
circumstance of the date of conviction. * * *" 
Further to consider in this question is Section 1.20, Revised Code, 

reading: 

"When a statute is repealed or amended, such repeal or 
amendment does not affect pending actions, prosecutions, or pro­
ceedings, civil or criminal. When the repeal or amendment relates 
to the remedy, it does not affect pending actions, prosecutions, or 
proceedings, unless so expressed, nor does any repeal or amend­
ment affect causes of such action, prosecution, or proceeding, 
existing at the time of such amendment or repeal, unless otherwise 
expressly provided in the amending or repealing act." 

Thus, even assuming that the July 1, 1960 amendments relate to the 

remedy, the bill in question, 128 Ohio Laws, 1221, did not expressly make 

the new law applicable to pending actions. 

I am constrained to conclude, therefore, that as to an accident occur­

ring prior to July 1, 1960, the amount required to satisfy a judgment under 

Section 4509.41, Revised Code, said judgment being rendered subsequent 

to that date, is governed by the provisions of that section as existing at the 

time of the accident. 
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Your second question concerns whether the registrar of the bureau of 

motor vehicles should hold a deposit for a period of one year under Section 

4509.29, Revised Code, as in effect at the time of the deposit, or continue 

to hold the deposit for a period of two years as required by that section as 

amended, effective July 1, 1960, 128 Ohio Laws 1221 (1225). 

As amended effective July 1, 1960, Section 4509.29, Revised Code, 

reads: 

"Upon the expiration of two years from the date of any 
security deposit any security remaining on deposit shall be re­
turned to the depositor or to his personal representative if an affi­
davit or other evidence satisfactory to the registrar of motor 
vehicles has been filed : 

" (A) That no action for damages arising out of the accident 
for which deposit was made begun within two years after the date 
of deposit, is pending against the person on whose behalf the 
deposit was made ; 

"(B) That there does not exist any unpaid judgment ren­
dered against any such person in such an action." 

Since the security deposit was made under the one year provision, 

under the same reasoning found in my discussion of your first question, I 

am of the opinion that the amendment to the law requiring a two year 

holding period should not be applicable. And here, again, I note that the 

bill, 128 Ohio Laws, 1221, did not make the changes in Section 4509.29, 

supra, applicable to pending proceedings. 

To conclude, it is my opinion and you are advised: 

1. Where a judgment is rendered in a case involving an accident 

occurring prior to July 1, 1960, the amount required to satisfy the judgment 

under Section 4509.41, Revised Code, is governed by the provisions of that 

section as existing at the time of the accident, and not by the section as 

amended July 1, 1960 (128 Ohio Laws 1221, 1228). 

2. The provisions of Section 4509.29, Revised Code, as effective July 

1, 1960, do not apply to a deposit made prior to that date; and where, prior 

to that date, a security deposit was made with the registrar of motor 

vehicles by an uninsured person, such deposit should have been returned 

to that person upon the expiration of one year from the date of deposit 
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provided the other conditions of Section 4509.29, Revised Code, as existing 

at the time the deposit was made, were met. 

Respectfully, 

MARK MCELROY 

Attorney General 




