
CRIME 
can be 
costly
As a victim, 
you may qualify 
for compensation

Who may be eligible:

Victims of a  
crime that poses  
a substantial  
threat of personal 
injury or death 
Dependents of a 
homicide victim 
Claimants responsible for a crime victim’s 
expenses, such as a parent or guardian
A victim whose expenses are not fully 
covered by insurance or other sources

Who may not be eligible:

The offender or accomplice  
of the offender 
A victim who was 
committing a criminal act that 
contributed to his or her injuries 
Anyone who was convicted of a felony, 
felonious conduct, child endangerment or 
domestic violence in the 10 years before 
becoming a victim, or who is convicted of 
such crimes while the application is pending 
Victims who do not report the crime or 
cooperate with law enforcement

Apply online at 
www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Victim

http://www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Victim


Victims compensation 
guidelines
What may be covered:

Medical and related expenses
Counseling for family members of a victim 
affected by specific crimes, up to $2,500 per 
person or $7,500 per family
Wages lost because of the crime
Funeral and burial expenses, up to $7,500
Financial support for dependents of a 
homicide victim
Replacement services (paying 
someone to do what the victim 
would normally do, such as 
housecleaning, child care, 
errands, etc.)
Crime-scene cleanup 
(including repairs for safety 
purposes), up to $750
Replacement items for 
those taken as evidence, 
up to $750

Limits to compensation:
Compensation cannot be paid for pain and 
suffering or stolen, damaged or lost property. 
Total expenditures cannot exceed $50,000.
Claims must total at least $50.
Costs payable through other sources, such 
as insurance or the Hospital Care Assurance 
Program, are not eligible.

For more information, contact the Crime Victim 
Services Section of the Ohio Attorney General’s 

 Office at 800-582-2877, 614-466-5610 or 
www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Victim.

http://www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Victim



