PROTECTING % THE % UNPROTECTED

A Guide to Your Rights

Ohio’s Lemor sLay

A state statute protects new-car buyers
from being stuck with a vehicle that
proves to be defective.




What is a lemon?

A “lemon” is a new motor vehicle that has one or
more warranty-covered problems that substantially
impair the use, value or safety of the vehicle. The
problem(s) must occur within the vehicle’s first year
or first 18,000 miles, whichever comes first.

Ohio’s Lemon Law applies to passenger cars,
motorcycles and other noncommercial motor vehicles
designed to carry no more than a 1-ton load and used
exclusively for personal driving.

Ohio’s Lemon Law

You are covered by the state’s Lemon Law if the problems with your
new motor vehicle occur during the first 12 months or first 18,000
miles of ownership, whichever comes first. If you have problems
with your vehicle during this protection period, take the vehicle
back to the dealer or the manufacturer for repair. The manufacturer
must be given a reasonable opportunity to fix the problem.

If the problem is not corrected, you might be eligible for a refund or
a vehicle replacement. You are covered by the Lemon Law even if
the problem is discovered late in the protection period; the repair
attempts may extend beyond the protection period.




How can | protect myself?

If you buy a new vehicle, you should take the following precautions in
case it turns out to be a lemon. Doing so will cost you nothing, but not
doing so could cost you thousands of dollars.

* Keep good records. Your best protection is to maintain a complete,
accurate maintenance history.

* Keep all warranty and repair orders. Each order should contain a
fully itemized list of repairs, the cost of repairs (if not covered under
warranty) and the length of time the car was in the shop. Every work
order you receive should include all of this information, even when
the work is done under warranty.

* Write down your vehicle’s problems and defects. Give a copy to the
service person at the dealership. Each time you take your car in for
a repair, also document any new or recurring problems.

* Read and understand your owner’s manual. Follow all the mainte-
nance requirements. If the manufacturer can show that you have
not maintained your car properly, you might not be eligible for a
refund or replacement.

* If you buy a used car, check the vehicle’s history to see whether it
has been branded a lemon. Check with the Ohio Bureau of Motor
Vehicles (www.bmv.ohio.gov) and the National Motor Vehicle Title
Information System (www.vehiclehistory.gov). The Lemon Law
protections generally do not apply to used cars unless the vehicle is
less than a year old and has less than 18,000 miles on it.

Has the manufacturer had a reasonable opportunity

to repair the vehicle?

If you can answer “yes” to any of the following four questions, the

manufacturer, under Ohio law, is presumed to have had a reasonable

opportunity to repair your vehicle.

In the first year or first 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first:

* Have three or more attempts been made to repair one problem and
the problem has continued to exist or happened again?

* Has the vehicle been in a repair shop for a cumulative 30 days or more?

* Have eight or more attempts been made to fix different problems?

* Has one unsuccessful attempt been made to fix a problem that
could cause death or serious injury?

If you answered “yes” to at least one of these questions, you have the
legal right to ask the manufacturer to replace the lemon
or refund the entire purchase price.




How can | request a refund or replacement?

To request a replace-
ment or refund, send

a certified letter to the
manufacturer. You can
find the address in your
owner’s manual or ask
your auto dealer.

In your letter, list the

problems you have had

with the car; the at-

tempts made to correct them; and your Vehicle Identification Number
(VIN), which can be found on your purchase contract. Also indicate
whether you want a replacement of the vehicle or a refund of the full
purchase price. Keep a copy of the letter for your records.

Will the manufacturer refund the full purchase price?

Once it is clear that your vehicle has not been fixed, the manufacturer
may, at your option, give you a new vehicle or refund the full purchase
price. That price includes all of the following:

* The purchase price for the car, plus the costs for transportation,
dealer preparation, delivery, dealer-installed accessories and other
services.

* The costs for financing and credit insurance as well as any warranty
and service contract charges.

* Taxes and any other government charges, including state sales tax,
license fees and registration fees.

Sometimes a manufacturer agrees with your claim and works
to replace your lemon as quickly as possible. In most cases, the
manufacturer requests an additional opportunity to repair the vehicle.

The manufacturer may try to negotiate a mutually satisfactory
resolution with you. The dealer or manufacturer should tell you
whether an arbitration program is available to resolve disputes
informally. If you apply for arbitration, you should expect to wait
several weeks for your hearing to be scheduled. Keep in mind that
arbitration is generally much faster and less formal than a court
proceeding, which could take several months or years.
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What is arbitration?

Arbitration allows a neutral third party to make a decision about your
case based on the merits of the claim. Most manufacturers partici-
pate in some kind of arbitration program.

The Ohio Attorney General’s Office approves arbitration programs that
are designed to ensure a fair and timely resolution of the dispute.

Some manufacturers’ arbitration programs have been approved by
the Ohio attorney general; others have not. To learn which manu-
facturers have approved programs, contact the attorney general’s
Consumer Protection Section at 800-282-0515.

If a program has been approved by the Ohio attorney general, you
must go through arbitration before you have the right to file a lawsuit.
With approved programs, you have the right to request an oral hearing
of your case. For the convenience of all parties, such hearings are fre-
quently conducted by a telephone conference call. You can ask your
dealer or check the warranty materials for information about how to
apply for arbitration. Whether or not an arbitration program has been
approved, decisions reached through arbitration are binding only
when a consumer accepts the decision.

Should | take my case to court?

If the manufacturer does not have an arbitration program approved
by the Ohio attorney general, or if you're unhappy with the outcome
of the arbitration, you might want to take your case to court. You can
file a civil suit to recover the total cost of the vehicle and any attorney
fees you have incurred as long as the suit is filed within five years of
the delivery of the vehicle.



What are the responsibilities of the manufacturer
and the dealer?

Manufacturers must provide the following written statement to all
new-car buyers to explain their legal rights under Ohio’s Lemon Law:

IMPORTANT: If this vehicle is defective, you may be entitled
under state law to a replacement or to compensation.

Dealers must give you a fully itemized written work order each time
you take your vehicle in for repairs or services, even when the work is
paid for under the manufacturer’s warranty. Work orders must list all
of your concerns, the work performed or attempted, the parts used
and the costs of parts and labor.

Does the Lemon Law apply to used cars?

Ohio’s law does not apply to vehicles that are more than 1 year old or
have been driven more than 18,000 miles.




Can returned lemons be resold in Ohio?

Lemons returned to the manufacturer or dealer can be resold to
consumers only under certain conditions. Vehicles returned to the
manufacturer for a problem that could cause death or serious injury
cannot legally be resold in Ohio.

For other returned lemons, the manufacturer must brand the title
and provide a warranty, and the used-car dealer must provide fair
warning notice to consumers.

Branded title: If a manufacturer repurchases a vehicle that a
consumer has claimed is a lemon, it must “brand” (place a notation
upon) the resale title. The notation should say:

Buyback: This vehicle was returned to the manufacturer
because it may not have conformed to its warranty.

Warranty protection: The manufacturer also must provide either
a 12-month or 12,000-mile warranty or the balance of the original
factory warranty, whichever is greater.

Fair warning notice: Before selling a returned lemon, a used-car
dealer must provide the following fair warning notice for the buyer to
read and sign:

Warning: This vehicle previously was sold as new. It was
returned to the manufacturer or its agent in exchange for
a replacement vehicle or refund as a result of the following
defect(s) or condition(s):

The notice and warranty are required even for a car returned as a
lemon under the law of another state.

If a manufacturer or its authorized dealer sells you a returned lemon

as a used vehicle without providing the notice, warranty and branded
title, it could violate Ohio’s Consumer Sales Practices Act; you should
file a complaint with the Ohio Attorney General’s Office. You also have
the right to file a lawsuit to recover your money.

If | buy a returned lemon, do | have the same
protection as a new-car buyer?

No, your legal protection differs from that of a new-car buyer. If you

buy a returned lemon, you are provided with the fair warning notice,
the warranty protection described previously and a branded title to
show the buyback. The notice, warranty and title brand serve as your
warning that you are buying a vehicle that was returned as a lemon.
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DAVE YOST

OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL

Ohio Attorney General’s
Consumer Protection Section
30 E. Broad St., 14th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215

For more information or to report a
scam, contact Ohio Attorney General
Dave Yost’s office at
www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov
or 800-282-0515.



http://www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov



