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QUICK REFERENCE

OHIO PEACE OFFICER TRAINING COMMISSION

www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/OPOTC 
1650 State Route 56 SW 

London, OH 43140

Main Number: (740) 845-2700 
Email: OPOTCSCECoordinator@OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov 

Hours of Operation 8:00 am – 4:30 pm (Eastern Time) M-F, Closed on Federal Holidays

PEARSON VUE® WEB SERVICES

Go to Pearson VUE’s website (http://www.pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc) to:
• Download a Candidate Handbook
• Make a real-time examination reservation
• View Regional Test Sites
• View Available Testing Dates (after creating a web account and hitting "schedule on-line")
• Purchase Exam Vouchers

PEARSON VUE® EXAMINATION RESERVATIONS

5601 Green Valley Drive 
Bloomington, MN  55437

http://www.pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc or (866) 361-5817 
Email: RegulatoryProgramCoordinator@pearson.com

Hours of Operation: M-F 8:00 am – 11:00 pm (EST), Closed on Federal Holidays 
Sat 8:00 am – 5:00 pm  

Sun 10:00 am – 4:00 pm 

Contact Pearson VUE to:
• Schedule, reschedule, or cancel an examination
• Obtain information regarding your examination

https://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Law-Enforcement/Ohio-Peace-Officer-Training-Academy/Ohio-Peace-Officer-Training-
Commission
http://www.pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc
http://www.pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc


Pearson VUE does not discriminate on the basis of age, sex, race, creed,  
disabling condition, religion, national origin, or any other protected characteristics.
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INTRODUCTION
This handbook is for candidates who want to be certified as a Peace 
Officer, Corrections Officer, or Private Security Officer in the State 
of Ohio. It describes the steps that you, the candidate, must follow 
to apply for and take the test. Please read this handbook completely 
and refer to it as much as you need.

The Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) has con-
tracted with Pearson VUE to deploy, score, and report the results of 
the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission certification examina-
tions that you must take to become a certified peace officer, certified 
corrections officer, or certified private security officer. Pearson VUE 
will also help you apply to take the exam. The phone number and 
address of Pearson VUE are listed in the Quick Reference at the front 
of this handbook.

Ohio is unique in its certification system for peace officers. Most 
other states retain some form of academy training followed by cer-
tification of the individual officer. Ohio requires the same, however, 
certification itself only occurs when eligible candidates are appointed 
to a peace officer position and certain selection standards are met. 
Certification is a cooperative process between OPOTC, the hiring 
agency, and the candidate.

THE EXAM

The examinations will consist of multiple choice questions written in 
English. Below is a description of each exam and what you can expect 
in preparation for each exam.

Exam Name # of 
Questions

Passing 
score time Exam 

fee

Peace Officer Basic 200 70% 2 1/2 hrs $95
Refresher Peace 
Officer Basic

25 70% 30 min $95

Corrections Basic 125 70% 2 hrs $95
Private Security 
Basic

125 70% 2 hrs $95

PEACE OFFICER BASIC TRAINING  
All cadets who successfully complete a Peace Officer Basic Training 
Academy, approved by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission, 
will be eligible to take the State Certification Exam.

Cadets are permitted 21/2 hours to complete the 200-question exam under 
regular accommodations. Requests for Special Accommodations testing 
must be submitted to the OPOTC through your academy commander 
45 days prior to the academy’s closing audit date. These accommoda-
tions may include extended time and other applicable actions.

You must achieve a score of 70% to receive a passing score. If a 70% 
score is not achieved, the cadet will be permitted one additional 
attempt of the state certification exam to achieve a passing score of 
70%. If a cadet does not achieve a passing score of 70% on the second 
attempt, the cadet will be required to successfully complete a full basic 
training academy to be eligible for the state certification exam.

REFRESHER PEACE OFFICER BASIC  
All cadets who successfully complete a Peace Officer Refresher course, 
approved by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission, will be 
eligible to take the State Certification Exam.

Cadets are permitted 30 minutes to complete the 25-question exam 
under regular accommodations. Requests for Special Accommodations 
testing must be submitted to the OPOTC through your academy 
commander no later than the first day of instruction. These accom-
modations may include extended time and other applicable actions.

You must achieve a score of 70% to receive a passing score. If a 70% 
score is not achieved, the cadet will be permitted one additional 
attempt of the state certification exam to achieve a passing score of 
70%. If a cadet does not achieve a passing score of 70% on the second 
attempt, the cadet will be required to successfully complete a full basic 
training academy to be eligible for the state certification exam.

CORRECTIONS BASIC 
All cadets who successfully complete a Corrections Basic Training 
Academy, approved by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission, 
will be eligible to take the State Certification Exam.

Cadets are permitted 2 hours to complete the 125-question exam under 
regular accommodations. Requests for Special Accommodations testing 
must be submitted to the OPOTC through your academy command-
er no later than the third day of the academy. These accommodations 
may include extended time and other applicable actions.

You must achieve a score of 70% to receive a passing score. If a 70% 
score is not achieved, the cadet will be permitted one additional 
attempt of the state certification exam to achieve a passing score of 
70%. If a cadet does not achieve a passing score of 70% on the second 
attempt, the cadet will be required to successfully complete a full basic 
training academy to be eligible for the state certification exam.

PRIVATE SECURITY BASIC 
All cadets who successfully complete a Private Security Academy, 
approved by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission, will be 
eligible to take the State Certification Exam.

Cadets are permitted 2 hours to complete the 125-question exam under 
regular accommodations. Requests for Special Accommodations testing 
must be submitted to the OPOTC through your academy command-
er no later than the third day of the academy. These accommodations 
may include extended time and other applicable actions.

You must achieve a score of 70% to receive a passing score. If a 70% 
score is not achieved, the cadet will be permitted one additional 
attempt of the state certification exam to achieve a passing score of 
70%. If a cadet does not achieve a passing score of 70% on the second 
attempt, the cadet will be required to successfully complete a full basic 
training academy to be eligible for the state certification exam.
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ELIGIBILITY
Upon successful academy training completion, your candidate record 
will be sent by OPOTC to Pearson VUE to establish a candidate demo-
graphic record in the Pearson VUE candidate database.

In addition to the candidate demographic record, OPOTC will send 
Pearson VUE an eligibility record which effectively gives you, the 
candidate, a window in which to schedule your examination. For any 
examination, be it either the first-time take or a retake of the examina-
tion, there must be a valid exam authorization from OPOTC in the 
Pearson VUE database before you can schedule an exam. Exam 
eligibility will be based on the eligibility dates of your respective exam 
provided by the OPOTC SCE Coordinator. Normally, this will provide 
a 30 day window to complete the exam; however, the OPOTC encour-
ages you to schedule your first attempt as soon as possible. If your 
first attempt is unsuccessful, your final attempt must be scheduled 
within the authorized dates referenced in the ‘Authorization to Test’ 
email you will receive directly from Pearson VUE. Situations involv-
ing extensions due to medical or military assignments will be addressed 
individually. All academy training and testing requirements must be 
completed within one year of the academy start date in compliance 
with Ohio Administrative Code, unless approved in writing by the Ohio 
Peace Officer Training Commission Executive Director. You will have 
two (2) attempts to pass your exam with a 70% pass score. 

ADA ACCOMMODATIONS
Pearson VUE complies with the provisions of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act as amended. The purpose of accommodations is 
to provide candidates with full access to the test. Accommodations 
are not a guarantee of improved performance or test completion.  
Pearson VUE provides reasonable and appropriate accommodations 
to individuals with documented disabilities who demonstrate a need 
for accommodations.
Test accommodations may include things such as:

• A separate testing room
• Extra testing time
• A Reader or Recorder, for individuals with mobility or vision 

impairments and cannot read or write on their own
Test accommodations are individualized and considered on a case-
by-case basis, and approved by the OPOTC. All candidates who are 
requesting accommodations because of a disability must provide 
appropriate documentation of their condition and how it is expected 
to affect their ability to take the test under standard conditions. This 
may include: 

• Supporting documentation from the professional who diag-
nosed the condition, including the credentials that qualify the 
professional to make this diagnosis

• A description of past accommodations the candidate has 
received

If you would like to request special accommodations testing, please 
contact your academy commander for further information. 
Candidates who have additional questions concerning test accom-
modations may contact the ADA Coordinator by e-mailing 
accommodationspearsonvue@pearson.com.

scheduling
To schedule an exam, please go to http://www.pearsonvue.
com/oh/opotc and create a Pearson VUE web account; or call 
Pearson VUE customer service at (866) 361-5817. Same day exam 
appointments may be made, subject to availability. If you schedule 
an exam via the Pearson VUE website, please ensure that you cre-
ate your web account with your LEGAL name as it appears on 
your government-issued ID and that your personal information 
is CORRECT. If you notice you made an error after you created 
your Pearson VUE web account, please contact Pearson VUE imme-
diately at (866) 361-5817 to correct your account information. It is 
very important that this information is correct, because it will appear 
as it was entered on the documentation provided to you after you 
have completed the exam, as well as on any reports to your academy.

When you report to the test center, you are required to bring one (1) 
form of valid, non-expired ID that is government-issued, contains a 
current photo and your signature, with the name on the ID exactly 
matching the name on the exam registration (including designations 
such as “Jr.” and “III”). If you do not present your ID on the day of 
the exam, you will be denied admission to the test center and will 
be considered absent. You also will forfeit the full examination fee.

EXAM FEES 
The fee for each attempt for OPOTC certification exams is $95. This 
exam fee is separate and additional to other applicable OPOTC appli-
cation fees. The exam fee ($95) must be paid at the time of reservation 
by credit card or debit card. Fees will not be accepted at the test center. 
Examination fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

EXAM VOUCHERS 
Exam vouchers offer an alternative, convenient way to pay for exami-
nations. Anyone purchasing a voucher(s) can redeem it later at the 
time of exam registration.

• There is no volume discount for vouchers.
• All vouchers are pre-paid. *Vouchers are non-refundable and 

non-returnable.
• Vouchers expire 12 months from the date they are issued; and  

voucher expiration dates cannot be extended. The exam must be 
taken by the expiration date printed on the voucher.

To purchase an OPOTC exam voucher, please visit: http://www.
pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc 

NAME CHANGES 
If you change your name while you are applying for test-
ing, or any time before you become certified, contact the 
Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) at 
OPOTCSCECoordinator@OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov 
to update your information as soon as possible. 

http://www.pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc
http://www.pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc
http://www.pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc
http://www.pearsonvue.com/oh/opotc
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CANCELLATION  
AND RESCHEDULING

CANCELLATION
If you cannot attend your examination, you must call the  
Pearson VUE Exam Reservation Line at (866) 361-5817 at least  
forty-eight (48) hours before the day of the exam to ask for a new 
exam date. If you do not cancel or reschedule at least forty-eight (48)
hours before the exam date, your exam fee will not be refunded and 
you cannot transfer the fee to another exam date. You may not give 
your exam date to another person. 

RESCHEDULING
Each candidate will receive an exam authorization that will include 
two (2) attempts to pass the exam, and is the order of the Ohio 
Administrative Code sections: 109:2-1-11, 109:2-3-09, and 109:2-
9-10. If a passing score is not achieved within two (2) attempts, the 
candidate must re-enroll into an academy, if desired.

ABSENCE POLICY
Candidates who are late or absent from an exam may call Pearson VUE 
within 14 days of the exam date to request an excused absence. A 
case number will be assigned, and supporting documentation can 
be emailed to Caseattachments@pearson.com. For example, if 
you are absent because of illness of yourself or an immediate fam-
ily member, you must email a copy of the original doctor's note to 
Caseattachments@pearson.com. Acceptable excuses include:

•  Illness of yourself or an immediate family member 
• Death in the family 
• Disabling traffic accident
• Court appearance or jury duty
• Military duty
• Weather emergency 

WEATHER EMERGENCIES
Exams may be delayed or cancelled if severe weather or a natural disas-
ter makes the test site unsafe or impossible to reach. Candidates will 
be notified if the exam is cancelled due to severe weather or a natural 
disaster. If the exam is cancelled, you may take the exam on another 
day at no additional cost.

EXAM DAY

WHAT TO BRING
You MUST bring the following items with you to the test site: 

•  One (1) form of current (unexpired) signature-bear-
ing identification. It MUST be a government-issued photo 
identification (for example: driver’s license). PLEASE NOTE: The 
signature and name must match exactly to what was submitted on 
your application. If you come to the test site without the proper 
ID, you will not be allowed to take the exam and you will lose 
your exam fee.

• Additional candidate admissions data will be collected during 
the admissions process, including a photo and electronic sig-
nature. 

• No other materials are permitted into the test site.

Acceptable Forms of Candidate Identification
Candidates must present one (1) form of current signature 
identification. The primary identification must be government-
issued and photo-bearing with a signature. Identification must be 
in English.

Primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired)
• Government-issued Driver’s License
• U.S. Dept. of State Driver’s License 
• U.S. Learner’s Permit (plastic card only with photo and 

signature)
• National/State/Country ID card
• Passport
• Passport Card 
• Military ID
• Military ID for spouses and dependents 
• Alien Registration Card (Green Card, Permanent Resident 

Visa)
If the ID presented has an embedded signature that is not visible 
(microchip), or is difficult or impossible to read, the candidate must 
present another form of identification from the Primary ID list that 
contains a visible signature.

Pearson VUE does not recognize grace periods. For example, if a 
candidate’s driver’s license expired yesterday and the state allows a 
30-day grace period for renewing the ID, the ID is considered to 
be expired.

SCORE REPORT
At the completion of your exam, you will receive a printed exam 
score report with the status of either "Pass" or "Did Not Pass." Your 
Training Academy Commander will share additional details with 
you about your score report.   

mailto:Caseattachments%40pearson.com?subject=
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TESTING POLICIES
The following policies are observed at each Test Site.

Lateness
Arrive at the test center thirty (30) minutes before your scheduled  
examination starts. If you are late for your scheduled examination, 
or do not bring all of your required materials, you will NOT be 
allowed to test and your examination fee will NOT be returned (see 
Cancellation and Rescheduling on page 3 for more details).

Electronic Devices
Cellular phones, pagers or any other electronic devices are not permit-
ted during testing. There is no place for storage of personal belongings 
at the Test sites.

personal belongings/Study Aids
You are not permitted to take personal belongings such as brief-
cases, large bags, study materials, extra books, papers, cellphones, or 
calculators into the examination room. Any such materials brought into 
the examination room will be collected and returned to you when you 
have completed the examination. Pearson VUE is not responsible for 
lost or misplaced items.

Eating/Drinking/Smoking
You are not permitted to eat, drink, or smoke during the examination.

Misconduct
If you cause a disturbance of any kind or engage in any kind of mis-
conduct, you will be dismissed from the examination and the incident 
will be reported to the OPOTC. Decisions regarding disciplinary 
measures are the responsibility of the Ohio Peace Officer Training 
Commission.

If you give help to someone or receive help from anyone during the exam, 
you will be asked to leave the room immediately. The results will not be 
scored and the incident will be reported to the OPOTC. Anyone who 
takes or tries to take materials or information into or from the testing 
room is subject to prosecution.

Guests/Visitors
Guests, visitors, pets, or children are NOT allowed at the Test Sites.

copyright rules
All exam questions, exam forms, and materials are copyrighted by 
and the property of the OPOTC. Any distribution of the exam 
content or materials through any form of reproduction, or through 
oral or written communication, is strictly prohibited and punishable 
by law. Anyone who removes or tries to remove exam material or 
information from the test site will be prosecuted to the fullest extent 
of the law. 
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