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Law Enforcement Professionals: 

Based upon available funding for reimbursement, per Revised Code (R.C.) section  109.803, the 
Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission has set the required minimum number of Continuing 
Professional Training (CPT) hours for calendar year 2015.  Between January 1, 2015 and 
December 31, 2015, every appointing authority shall require each of its appointed peace officers 
and troopers to complete 4 hours of CPT.  For public appointing authorities, as defined in Ohio 
Administrative Code (OAC) section 109:2-18-01(D), to be eligible for reimbursement of training 
costs, 1 hour of CPT must include critical subject training related to domestic violence with the 
remaining 3 hours related to general law enforcement and the public appointing authority must 
comply with the annual roster reporting requirements pursuant to R.C. 109.761(B). The reporting 
of the 2015 CPT hours will be reflected on your annual roster that is due by January 31, 2016. 

As in previous years, continuing professional training is any training the agency administrator 
deems is directly related to the duties and responsibilities of a peace officer or trooper. The 
training must meet the requirements of OAC 109:2-18, serve a recognized law enforcement 
purpose, and have significant intellectual or practical content, the primary objective of which 
shall be to improve a participant's professional competence as a peace officer or trooper. 

The Ohio Peace Officer Basic Training Academy has many free and reduced-cost course 
offerings available which may be used to fulfill CPT requirements.  The 2015 course catalog is 
available for viewing on OHLEG and on the Attorney General’s website at 
www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Law-Enforcement/Ohio-Peace-Officer-Training-Academy/Course-Catalog.aspx    

A new course, “Domestic Violence,” is now available to meet the domestic violence training 
requirement.  It can be found on eOPOTA under the “Patrol and Operations” tab.  Additional 
new courses have also been posted that will meet the three hours of general law enforcement 
training requirements.   

Please do not hesitate to contact the office at, 740-845-2700 for questions or concerns. 

Regards,  

 

Mary E. Davis, Executive Director              
Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission             
Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine  



Directions 

 
We will contact the appointing authorities in mid-September 2015 and supply a copy of the 
agency roster documentation that we have on file and detailed information on how to respond for 
CPT compliance.  Please remember this does not alter the agency’s legal requirement pursuant to 
ORC 109.761 to notify the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (OPOTC) of any 
appointment changes within ten (10) days.   
 

ORC 109.761 Reports of appointment to peace officer training commission. 

(A) (1) Each agency or entity that appoints or employs one or more peace officers shall report to       
the Ohio peace officer training commission all of the following . . . : 

(a) The appointment or employment of any person to serve the agency or entity as a 
peace officer in any full-time, part-time, reserve, auxiliary, or other capacity; 

(b) The termination, resignation, felony conviction, death, or guilty plea as specified in 
division (F) of section 109.77 off the Revised Code of any person who has been appointed 
to or employed by the agency or entity as a peace officer in any full-time, part-time, 
reserve, auxiliary, or other capacity and is serving the agency or entity in any of those 
peace officer capacities. 

(2) An agency or entity shall make each report required by this division not later than ten 
days after the occurrence of the event being reported. The agency or entity shall make the 
report in the manner and format prescribed by the executive director of the Ohio peace 
officer training commission. . .  

 
The rosters we provide will assist the local agencies in completing their Continuing Professional 
Training/Roster Report, which must be completed and submitted to the Ohio Peace Officer 
Training Commission (OPOTC), no later than Jan. 31, 2016.   
 
The preferred methods of submission are via an email attachment to 
Rosters@OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov or via fax to (866) 344-1056.  If neither of those methods are 
available to an agency, the rosters can still be sent through the U.S. Mail to Amber Jica, OPOTC, 
PO Box 309, London, OH  43140.   



Frequently Asked Questions 
 
Who needs to complete CPT and who is exempt pursuant to OAC 109:2-18-02? 
Each peace officer or trooper is required to complete up to 24 hours of Continuing Professional 
Training annually. The actual number of required hours in a particular calendar year is 
determined by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission, based upon funding availability.  
 
For calendar year 2015, 4 hours are required, and for a public appointing authority to be eligible 
for reimbursement, 1 hour must include critical subject training related to domestic violence with 
the remaining 3 hours related to general law enforcement. 
 
Newly certified peace officers or troopers are exempt from CPT requirements for the calendar 
year in which they complete the peace officer basic or highway patrol cadet training program.   
 
Otherwise, those who receive a new appointment before July 1, 2015 must complete the entire 
calendar year CPT requirement, while those who receive a new appointment on or after July 1, 
2015 are exempt from CPT for the calendar year. 
 
County sheriffs who hold their position as an elected official and not as an appointed peace 
officer are not required to complete CPT hours, but are required to complete other annual 
training.   
 
 
What is general law enforcement training? 
General law enforcement training is training that serves a recognized law enforcement purpose, 
which shall improve the officer’s ability to serve as a law enforcement officer.  This can be any 
topic that an agency administrator approves. 
 
 
What does not qualify as CPT? 
Training required elsewhere for peace officers by the General Assembly or the Attorney General 
will not qualify as CPT.  As such the following break-in-service updates under the “Statutory 
Mandates” tab: the Domestic Violence courses; Missing Children; Crisis Intervention; Child 
Abuse and Neglect; Missing Persons; Human Trafficking; and the Refresher Course cannot 
qualify as CPT; annual Firearms Requalification would also not qualify. 
 
 
Who can be an instructor for Continuing Professional Training? 
CPT can be conducted only by instructors who meet at least one of following criteria: 
 
1. Has five years’ full-time law enforcement experience and meets at least one of the following:  

a. Current OPOTC-certified peace officer basic training instructor 
b. Four-year college degree 
c. Completed an instructional skills course approved by the executive director 

2. Licensed or certified professional and is providing instruction in a subject area directly related  
to the field for which they are certified or licensed. 

3. The individual is conducting a training program pre-approved by the executive director. 



 
Individuals who were OPOTC-certified basic training instructors but have had such certification 
revoked or suspended cannot teach CPT. 
 
 
Can an officer take CPT online? 
Yes, the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission will provide training on eOPOTA through the 
Ohio Law Enforcement Gateway (OHLEG). Courses that are located under the “Statutory 
Mandates” tab on eOPOTA cannot be used toward CPT. 
 
If an officer’s agency does not want an officer to have full OHLEG access, the agency could still 
authorize “eOPOTA-only” OHLEG access.  The officer should consult with their supervisor for 
authority to receive this limited access. 
 
 
What happens if an officer does not complete CPT?  
Pursuant to OAC 109:2-18-06 a peace officer or trooper who, in any calendar year, fails to 
comply with the CPT requirements shall cease carrying a firearm and shall cease performing 
the functions of a peace officer or trooper until such time as evidence of compliance is filed 
with the executive director.  
 
This rule does not apply to peace officers or troopers for whom an extension of time has been 
granted by the executive director.   
 
 
What are the possible sanctions if an officer works while in cease function status? 
Acting as a peace officer while in cease function status could subject an officer and the agency to 
civil liability for any peace officer functions the officer performs, as that officer is prohibited 
from functioning as a peace officer.  Local mayors, chiefs of police, sheriffs, and prosecutors 
will be notified of officers who are in cease function status. 
 
 
What happens if the officer misses the 12/31 deadline to complete CPT, but 
completes it on 1/1 or shortly thereafter?  Can the officer go right back to work and 
function as a peace officer? 
No, the Administrative Code requires that once someone goes into cease function status (which 
would happen at midnight on 1/1) then the OPOTC must receive documentation, review it, and 
verify that the officer can be taken out of cease function status.  It could take several days to 
review the documentation and verify that the officer has met the CPT requirements. 
 
 
When do the CPT/Roster reports have to be filed with the Ohio Peace Officer 
Training Commission, and what happens if an agency misses the deadline? 
The OPOTC will be contacting local agencies in mid-September.  An agency can submit its 
annual roster and CPT report any time after that.  The sooner a public agency responds, the 
sooner it will receive reimbursement.  As to final deadlines, an officer’s CPT requirement must 
be completed by December 31, 2015, then each agency’s Continuing Professional 
Training/Roster Report must be submitted by January 31, 2016. 



 
Pursuant to OAC 109:2-18-04(G), failure to report compliance with CPT requirements by 
January 31, 2016 will result in a forfeiture of the appointing authority's eligibility for 
reimbursement.  
 
 
What happens if an officer has completed CPT on eOPOTA via OHLEG, but is 
having problems printing certificates? 
If the agency’s chief/sheriff is satisfied, and on the annual roster and CPT report puts a “Y” into 
the column that states an officer completed CPT, OPOTC will also be satisfied.  The chief/sheriff 
will need documentation of some sort though, as they are subject to audit, so the officer will 
ultimately need to give the chief/sheriff a certificate for the agency’s records. 
 
If agency’s chief/sheriff puts “N” in the column that asks if the officer did the CPT, then the 
officer will need to send copies of the certificates to OPOTC to review and update the officer’s 
status. 
 
 
Can an officer’s December 31, 2015 CPT requirement be extended? 
Yes, but only under very specific emergency circumstances. Pursuant to OAC 109:2-18-02 and 
ORC 109.803(A)(2), the OPOTC executive director may extend the time for an officer to 
complete CPT requirements upon written request from the appointing authority. That request 
must be made to the executive director by December 15, 2015, and must explain the emergency 
which created the need for the extension. It shall include the name of the peace officer or trooper 
the request involves, the emergency circumstances (including documentation) leading to the 
request, and the date the request was submitted to OPOTC.  
 
The executive director will make a decision granting or denying the extension request within 
thirty (30) days of receiving the extension request.  In making this decision, the executive 
director will consider factors such as a serious illness of an officer of an officer’s immediate 
family member, prolonged military service, or an unreasonable shortage of manpower within the 
appointing agency.  If an extension is granted, it will be for ninety days, unless the executive 
director finds that special circumstances exist for a longer extension.  The executive director 
shall send written notice of the decision to the appointing authority. 
 
 
Who reports an officer that works for more than one agency? 
Pursuant to OAC 109:2-18-02, if a peace officer or trooper is appointed by more than one 
agency, the agency responsible for documenting the training and be eligible for reimbursement 
shall be determined by order of priority as follows:  
 

1. Paid full-time 
2. Paid part-time 
3. Unpaid 

 
If a peace officer or trooper holds appointments of equal priority, the agency where the peace 
officer or trooper was first appointed will be responsible for documenting the 
 



If an agency does not want, or is not eligible for reimbursement, does the agency or 
officer still have to complete CPT documentation forms? 
Yes. Each agency must submit the Continuing Professional Training/Roster Report regardless of 
reimbursement issues.  Otherwise, OPOTC will not have information establishing that the 
individual officer has complied with training requirements, and it will appear that pursuant to 
OAC 109:2-18-06, the officer enters in a cease-function status on January 1st, such that the 
officer is prohibited from performing the functions of a peace officer or trooper and 
prohibited from carrying a firearm during the course of official duties until evidence of 
compliance is filed with the executive director. 
 
 
Which agencies are eligible for reimbursement, and how much is reimbursed? 
All public appointing authorities that comply with the requirements are eligible for 
reimbursement, and can receive $20 per required hour, per officer.  For calendar year 2015, there 
are four hours of CPT required.  If at least one of those hours involve critical subject training 
related to domestic violence the agency can receive to to $80 per officer. 
 
 
If an officer complies with the law, will an eligible agency automatically get 
reimbursed? 
Not necessarily.  The officer may meet the officer’s individual responsibility to obtain the 
training, but the agency may have missed deadlines or failed to provide CPT documentation, 
which are mandatory for reimbursement.  Also, while all officers are required to take CPT, only 
public agencies are permitted to obtain reimbursement, pursuant to OAC 109:2-18-04. 
 
 
Will the agency receive partial reimbursement for an officer who takes 4 hours of 
CPT, but does not take 1 hour of this year’s critical subject training related to 
domestic violence?  
No.  Unless the officer completes at least one hour of training related to domestic violence the 
agency will not receive any reimbursement for that officer. 
 
 
Will the agency receive partial reimbursement for an officer who takes less than 
four 4 hours of CPT?  
No.  There is not partial reimbursement for partial compliance.  If the officer does not take at 
least 4 hours of CPT, including 1 hour related to domestic violence, the agency will not receive 
any reimbursement for that officer. 
 
 
How will a public agency know when the reimbursement money will be sent? 
Once the local agency submits its annual roster with CPT information, OPOTC staff will review 
that information, and address any irregularities that may be found.  OPOTC administration will 
then approve the CPT reimbursement, and will notify the local agency’s designated contact 
person by email that reimbursement has been approved.  The finance department will then 
process and send the reimbursement check within three weeks of the approval email.  
 
 



What can a public agency do with the reimbursement money? 
Pursuant to OAC 109:2-18-04, each public appointing authority that receives reimbursement 
funds for CPT must keep those funds separate from any other funds and can use that money only 
to defray the cost of CPT programs.  For more specific questions as to whether a particular 
expenditure would be appropriate, the agency is directed to contact its local legal advisor.   
 
 
What type of records should the agency keep? 
The agency must maintain records sufficient to show compliance with the CPT requirements. If 
training is conducted at the agency, the lesson plans and sign-in sheets must be kept. If training is 
conducted by outside individuals, authentic certificates of the training or 1) authentic copies of 
the lesson plans plus 2) authentic copies of the sign-in sheets should be kept if possible. 
 
All records should be kept on file by the agency in accordance with the agency’s records 
retention schedule but no less than three years. All records will be available to the executive 
director for inspection upon request. 
 
 
When will I know how many hours are required for next year? 
No later than October 15th of each year, the executive director will notify each law enforcement 
agency administrator of the training and reimbursement requirements for the upcoming year. 
 
 
Who do I contact if I have other questions? 
For further clarification or additional questions, contact Amber Jicha at 
Rosters@OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov or (740) 845-2686. 


