

PRESIDENT
George Jepsen
Connecticut Attorney General

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Derek Schmidt
Kansas Attorney General

VICE PRESIDENT

Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Marty Jackley

South Dakota Attorney General

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR James McPherson

2030 M Street, NW Eighth Floor Washington, DC 20036 Phone: (202) 326-6000 http://www.naag.org/ May 17, 2017

Senator Orrin Hatch Chair, Senate Finance Committee 104 Hart Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 Senator Ron Wyden Ranking Member, Senate Finance Committee 221 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Senate Finance Committee 219 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

RE: Letter to Senate Finance Committee re: Recovering State Contributions in Medicare Part D Settlements

Dear Senators Hatch and Wyden:

We write to you as state Attorneys General to address an important issue impacting the state Medicaid programs. Over the past decade the states have contributed approximately \$80 billion dollars in monthly "clawback" payments to the Medicare Part D prescription drug benefit program. In 2017 alone, those clawback payments are expected to rise to over \$11 billion. And over the past decade the Federal government has received, and continues to receive, millions of dollars in recoveries for fraud and overpayment cases involving Part D drugs. However, despite the states' considerable—and growing—financial contributions to the Part D program, the states have not received a single dollar of those recoveries. We request your assistance in addressing this inequity and recommend federal legislation that would allow the Federal government to return a proportionate share of all Part D recoveries to the states.

Before January 1, 2006, state Medicaid programs paid directly for outpatient prescription drug benefits for dual eligible beneficiaries (individuals covered by both Medicare and Medicaid). Because Medicaid is jointly funded, those payments included both federal and state dollars via the Federal and State Medical Assistance Percentages ("FMAP/SMAP"). If a state received a Medicaid recovery, it would share that recovery by remitting the FMAP portion of that recovery to the Federal government.

As of January 1, 2006, under Part D in the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and Modernization Act (Part D), Medicare now pays directly for these Part D drugs. However, the states still share in those costs through substantial monthly "clawback" payments. In other words, even though the cost-sharing structure changed with the advent of Part D, the Federal government and states have continued to jointly fund dual eligible beneficiaries' outpatient prescription drugs.

Over the past decade, the Federal government has settled numerous national healthcare cases and has recovered hundreds of millions of dollars in Part D funding, but has never returned any of these funds to the states. The

Federal government has taken the position (as indicated in discussion with U.S. DOJ) that it is prevented from returning any of these recoveries to the states because of the Miscellaneous Receipts Act, 31 U.S.C. § 3302(b) ("MRA"), which requires that any money received "for the Government" from any source be deposited into the United States Treasury unless Congress has specifically authorized the agency to retain such money. However, the purpose of the MRA is to prevent executive agencies from augmenting their own appropriations – which would not be the case when returning Part D recoveries to the very same state Medicaid programs that, along with the Federal government, fund the prescription drug expenditures at issue. A specific statute authorizing the Federal government to share recoveries with the states is appropriate here as a matter of equity and fundamental fairness, returning the states and Federal government to the reciprocal sharing of dual eligible beneficiary recoveries that existed prior to 2006.

We therefore strongly urge you to consider appropriate legislation authorizing the Federal government to return an equitable share of Part D recoveries to the states.

Respectfully submitted,

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

Steve Marshall

Alabama Attorney General

Mark Brnovich

Arizona Attorney General

Xavier Bacerra

California Attorney General

George Jepsen

Connecticut Attorney General

Karl A. Racine

District of Columbia Attorney General

Mike DeWine

Ohio Attorney General

Tahna Lindemuth

Waska Attorney General

Leslie Rutledge

Arkansas Attorney General

Cynthia H. Coffman

Colorado Attorney General

Matthew P. Denn

Delaware Attorney General

Pamela Io Rondi

Florida Attorney General

Christopher M. Carr Georgia Attorney General

Lawrence Wasden Idaho Attorney General

Curtis T. Hill, Jr. Indiana Attorney General

Derek Schmidt Kansas Attorney General

Jeff/Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

Brian Frosh Maryland Attorney General

Bill Schuette
Michigan Attorney General

Michigan Attorney General

Jim Hood

Mississippi Attorney General

Tim Fox Montana Attorney General Doug Chin Hawaii Attorney General

Lisa Madigan
Illinois Attorney General

Tom Miller
Iowa Attorney General

Andy Beshear Kentucky Attorney General

Janet Mills Maine Attorney General

lant o mile

Mayra Healey
Massachusetts Attorney General

Lori Swanson Minnesota Attorney General

Josh Hawley Cong

Missouri Attorney General

Douglas Peterson Nebraska Attorney General Adam Paul Laxalt Nevada Attorney General

Christopher Porrino
New Jersey Attorney Ge

New Jersey Attorney General

Eric T. Schneiderman

New York Attorney General

Mytyrtu

Mike Hunter

Oklahoma Attorney General

Josh Shapiro

Pennsylvania Attorney General

Peter F. Kilmartin

Rhode Island Attorney General

Marty J. Jackley

South Dakota Attorney General

Ken Paxton

Texas Attorney General

T. J. Dongvan

Vermont Attorney General

Fair

Gordon MacDonald New Hampshire Attorney General

Hector Balderas

New Mexico Attorney General

Wayne Stenehjem

North Dakota Attorney General

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Attorney General

/S/

Wanda Vàzquez Garced Puerto Rico Attorney General

Alan Wilson

South Carolina Attorney General

Man Wilson

Herbert H. Slatery, III

Herbert H. Slatery, III
Tennessee Attorney General

Sean Reyes

Utah Attorney General

Mark R. Herring

Virginia Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson
Washington Attorney Gen

Washington Attorney General

Brad Schimel

Wisconsin Attorney General

Patrick Morrisey

West Virginia Attorney General