
 
 
 

Charitable Law Section
Office 614.466.3181 
Fax 614.466.9788 
150 East Gay Street, 23rd Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3130 
www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov 

OHIO CHARITABLE ORGANIZATIONS “SOLICITATION” ACT  
INFORMATION SHEET  
(Chapter 1716, Ohio Revised Code)  

 
REGISTRATION  

 
Ohio’s Charitable Organizations “Solicitation” Act (Chapter 1716, Ohio Revised Code) requires every 
charitable organization that intends to solicit contributions in Ohio (with certain statutory exceptions) to 
register and submit a financial report and fee (based upon prior year’s contributions). The required form is 
the Charitable Organization Registration Statement or the Unified Registration Statement of Charitable 
Organization Form. (URS) This filing is required on an annual basis. Soliciting for contributions in Ohio 
cannot begin until this registration and fee, if applicable, are received by our office.  
 
The Attorney General’s Office does NOT send a confirmation of receipt of registration. If confirmation is 
required, please complete the top portion of the Verification of Registration with the Ohio Attorney 
General’s Office form and send it with a self-addressed stamped envelope to the address listed above. Please 
allow fourteen days from the day we receive it for processing. The annual renewal registration statement is 
due to be filed with the Attorney General on or before the fifteenth day of the fifth month following the 
organization’s tax year-end or by the date of any federal extension.  
 

ANNUAL FINANCIAL REPORT  
 

A financial report must be filed with the Charitable Organization Registration Statement or the URS. The 
form required for this report is either the Annual Financial Report of Charitable Organization, if the 
organization does not file a 990, 990-EZ or 990-PF with the IRS, or a copy of the tax form filed with the IRS. 
All required attachments to the 990 are required, excluding the list of donors. The applicable registration fee, 
based on the amount of contributions the organization received from persons in this state (see schedule 
below), must be sent with the renewal registration.  
 

REGISTRATION FEES  
 

Amount of Contributions Received  Registration Fee Due  
Less than $5,000 $ -0- 
$5,000, but less than $25,000 $ 50 
$25,000, but less than $50,000 $100 
$50,000 or more $200 

 
Checks should be made payable to “Treasurer, State of Ohio.”   
 
Please send all registration forms, annual financial reports and fees, and direct all questions and 
correspondence to the address listed to: 
 

Ohio Attorney General 
Charitable Law Section 
150 East Gay Street, 23rd Floor 
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3130 
(614) 466-3181 
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