(COLUMBUS, Ohio) – Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine today filed a lawsuit against Glory Auto Sales for multiple violations of Ohio consumer law.
"This company sold used vehicles without providing the information consumers needed," Attorney General DeWine said. "It provided one-page contracts that fell woefully short of what the law requires. Buying a used car is a major purchase for many consumers, and it's important that they receive all the protections the law provides them."
Glory Auto Sales is a used motor vehicle dealer based in Reynoldsburg, Ohio. The Ohio Attorney General's Office has received dozens of consumer complaints against the company. In their complaints, consumers cited problems with certificates of title, repossessions, and repairs and services.
According to the Attorney General's lawsuit, filed in the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas, Glory Auto Sales routinely used a one-page contract to explain the financing terms of its vehicle sales. These one-page forms did not fully disclose financing costs to consumers.
Additionally, an investigation by the Attorney General's office found that Glory Auto Sales often failed to provide consumers with dated receipts listing the terms of the sale. It also routinely failed to apply for a certificate of title within 30 days of selling a vehicle.
The Attorney General's lawsuit charges Glory Auto Sales with multiple violations of Ohio consumer law, including violations of the Consumer Sales Practices Act, Deposits Rule, the Retail Installment Sales Act, the Odometer Rollback and Disclosure Act, and the Certificate of Motor Vehicle Title Act. The lawsuit seeks permanent injunctive relief, civil penalties, and full restitution for consumers.
Attorney General DeWine reminds consumers to take the following precautions before buying a used car:
- Research a dealer's reputation. Check with the Ohio Attorney General's Office and the Better Business Bureau.
- Get everything in writing, especially verbal promises.
- Read the fine print. Make sure you understand the purchase agreement and the financing terms. Ask questions about anything you don't understand.
- Understand that "AS IS" means the car is not covered by warranty. You will be responsible for repairs.
- Take a vehicle for an extended test drive before buying. Ask a trustworthy mechanic to check it for problems.
- Ask about prior damage, defects, and repair history. Check auto history through the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System at www.nmvtis.gov and other Internet-based title information services.
- Consumers in Ohio are protected by the Attorney General's Title Defect Rescission Fund (TDR) if a used car dealer fails to provide them with a title after 30 days. Call 800-282-0515 to find out about TDR.
- Keep in mind that in most cases, you can't return a car once you buy it.
- Ohio's Lemon Law generally does not apply to used cars. It only covers vehicles within their first year or first 18,000 miles of use, whichever comes first.
Consumers who believe they have been treated unfairly should file a complaint with the Ohio Attorney General's Office at www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov
View the lawsuit against Glory Auto Sales
- 30 -