
APPENDIX 16 

OHIO ATTORNEY GENERAL 
SEXUAL ASSAULT FORENSIC EXAMINATION (SAFE) PROGRAM 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REIMBURSEMENT FORM 
 

All exams must be conducted using the 2011 Ohio Sexual Assault Protocol for Sexual Assault 
Forensic and Medical Examination.   
 

• If an evidence collection examination is conducted, it must be done so without omissions 
according to the directions supplied in the kit.  It is the responsibility of the medical 
provider to conduct all steps of the kit.  Repeated instances of improper kit collection 
could result in future ineligibility for reimbursement.   
 

• The Ohio Department of Health has developed the official Ohio evidence collection kit in 
conjunction with law enforcement, medical providers and victim advocates.  The Ohio kit 
(catalog number OH100) may be obtained from Sirchie Fingerprint Laboratories at      
800-356-7311 or email sales@sirchie.com and put to the attention of Clara Carroll.  

 
• If a kit is opened and components are missing, either replace the missing items or open a 

new kit and retrieve the necessary items.  You may contact the manufacturer for 
reimbursement or replacement.   
    

• If a patient presenting with a report of sexual assault requests a SAFE, the hospital is 
obligated under Ohio Revised Code 2907.29 to conduct the forensic evidence collection.  
If the medical facility does not have a Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) on staff the 
patient may be given a choice to transfer to a hospital with a staffed SANE.  The medical 
facility must inform the patient they may incur medical expenses from the originating 
emergency department for the initial medical assessment prior to transfer. 
 

• The Ohio Revised Code 2907.28 (B) states that “no costs incurred by a hospital or 
emergency facility” for the collection of forensic evidence in sexual assault cases “shall be 
billed or charged directly or indirectly to the victim or the victim’s insurer.”    

 
o If an adult patient presenting in the emergency department as a victim of sexual 

assault is provided a pregnancy test and emergency contraception (STI 
prophylaxis is part of SAFE reimbursement and STI testing on adults is 
discouraged), etc., those costs are billable to the patient/insurer.   

o STI testing of minors is appropriate and costs are billable to the patient/insurer.   
 

The medical facility is not permitted to charge the patient for the emergency room visit 
for these services as they are related to a standard of care during the SAFE.  If the patient 
requires additional emergency services such as CT scan, MRI, suturing, etc., then the 
emergency room visit is billable to the patient.   

 

mailto:sales@sirchie.com
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• The SAFE Program will reimburse a hospital or medical facility according to Administrative 
Rule 109:7-1-02 that states “a hospital or emergency medical facility shall accept a flat 
fee of $532.00 as payment in full for any cost incurred in conducting the examination of a 
victim of sexual assault for the purpose of gathering physical evidence for possible 
prosecution, including the cost of any antibiotics administered as part of the 
examination.”   

 
• A hospital or other emergency medical facility should bill the SAFE Program no later than 

6 months from date of treatment by submitting a reimbursement at 
https://safepublic.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Forms/Logon.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f  for each 
examination conducted.  Failure to submit a claim within 6 months may result in a denial.   
**Paper claims are no longer accepted for reimbursement. 
 

• Physicians and other medical providers shall seek reimbursement for services provided as 
part of the SAFE (i.e., diagnosis, prescriptions, etc.) from the hospital or other medical 
facility where the exam is conducted and not bill the SAFE program, the patient, or their 
insurer.   It is the responsibility of the medical facility to establish the process by which 
physicians will be reimbursed from the SAFE payment.   

 
• Reimbursement for collection of evidence from a suspect is not covered under the SAFE 

Program.  Reimbursement should be sought through the appropriate law enforcement 
agency.   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://safepublic.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Forms/Logon.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f
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Read the following instructions to ensure the 2011 Ohio Sexual Assault Protocol for Sexual 
Assault Forensic and Medical Examination is followed and the exam is reimbursable by the SAFE 
Program.  If you have additional questions contact the SAFE Program at 614-466-4797. 
 
The following steps correlate to the numbered boxes on the reimbursement form.  In order to 
receive your reimbursement in a timely manner, please follow the directions for each question.  
Failure to answer all questions completely may result in a denial.   
 
1-2. Upon logging in and entering your password, the Medical Facility and SAFE Account 
Number will populate in the fields.  Only individuals who are approved as SAFE Hospital 
Coordinators can access the SAFE reimbursement form.   
 
3.  Name of healthcare professional (s) conducting examination.  An expert in forensic 
evidence collection is not mandated per the ODH protocol. 
 
4.  Indicate if the primary examiner named in field 3 is an expert in pediatric sexual abuse.  
The Ohio Attorney General's Office (OAG), the Ohio American Academy of Pediatrics, and the 
Ohio Chapter of the Association of Forensic Nurses developed criteria (Appendix 5) for health 
care providers performing forensic medical exams on suspected pediatric sexual abuse cases 
where a genital exam is conducted, but no kit is collected due to disclosure occurring outside of 
the 72 hour timeframe.   
 
In order to receive reimbursement from the SAFE program, the individual performing the non-
acute exam on a minor must submit a resume/CV detailing their expertise in pediatric sexual 
abuse and be approved by the OAG.  Once approved, the expert examiner’s name will be 
entered into the SAFE system.  Use the drop-down bar to find the name of the examiner.    
 
If the examiner’s name is not present, they must submit an expert examiner form for 
consideration.  Forms for MD, APN, CNP, AND SANE are found at the following links. 

• http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Files/Forms/Forms-for-Victims/Sexual-Assault-
Forensic-Examination/2011-07-18_PediatricPhysicianForm_CV-pdf.aspx  

• http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Files/Forms/Forms-for-Victims/Sexual-Assault-
Forensic-Examination/2011-10-12_SANEPediatricNurse_CV-pdf.aspx  

 
5.  Patient name.   The patient name must appear exactly as printed on driver’s license, other 
ID or medical record.  Rarely, an adult patient will ask that their identity be kept completely 
confidential.  If this occurs, submit the reimbursement under the name “Jane Doe”.  

6.  Patient Gender Identity - Please check one option based on the response provided by the 
patient.  See corresponding definitions below (from Human Rights Campaign, Sexual 
Orientation and Gender Identity: Terminology and Definitions.           
http://www.hrc.org/issues/gender_identity_terms_definitions.asp): 

http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Files/Forms/Forms-for-Victims/Sexual-Assault-Forensic-Examination/2011-07-18_PediatricPhysicianForm_CV-pdf.aspx
http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Files/Forms/Forms-for-Victims/Sexual-Assault-Forensic-Examination/2011-07-18_PediatricPhysicianForm_CV-pdf.aspx
http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Files/Forms/Forms-for-Victims/Sexual-Assault-Forensic-Examination/2011-10-12_SANEPediatricNurse_CV-pdf.aspx
http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Files/Forms/Forms-for-Victims/Sexual-Assault-Forensic-Examination/2011-10-12_SANEPediatricNurse_CV-pdf.aspx
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The term "gender identity” refers to a person's innate, deeply felt psychological identification 
as male or female, which may or may not correspond to the person's body or designated sex at 
birth. 
 
Transgender - A broad range of people who experience and/or express their gender differently 
from what most people expect — either in terms of expressing a gender that does not match 
the sex listed on their original birth certificate (i.e., designated sex at birth), or physically 
changing their sex. It is an umbrella term that includes people who are transsexual, cross-
dressers or otherwise gender non-conforming.  
 
7.  Patient date of birth. 
 
8.  Patient identification number.  In cases where a medical record number is not used, provide 
the first six digits of the patient’s social security number.  The same identification number must 
appear on both the reimbursement form and itemized statement or it will not be approved for 
payment. 
 
9.  Date/Time of Abuse/Assault – If the exam occurs within 96 hours (four full days) post-
assault for an adult and 72 hours (3 full days) for a child, evidence should always be collected.  If 
a kit is collected, a specific date and time is required to confirm it was completed within the 
required timeframe.  If an exact date cannot be obtained, provide an estimated range of dates 
based upon the best information available (ex., December 2009, Summer 2008).  Situations 
where this may be necessary generally involve either young children or adults with cognitive 
disabilities, developmental delays or dementia.  Any forms marked with “unknown” will be 
denied. 
 
There are cases in which evidence should be collected beyond 96 hours.  Examples include 
where the patient was unconscious, sedentary, have cognitive delays and recent contact is 
suspected, or is a minor with a history of chronic abuse.  
 
Examinations beyond the evidence collection cut-off may corroborate chronic injury or 
excessive force related to the sexual assault but are ineligible for SAFE reimbursement.  
Documentation must clearly justify the reasoning for the forensic collection as it relates to the 
sexual assault.   
  
10.  Treatment Date/Time – The date/time when the treatment of the patient began must be 
exact.  
 
11.  Indicators of sexual assault - Document which indicators/history the patient (or patient 
guardian) presented with and why sexual assault/abuse was suspected and an exam conducted.  
In cases of suspected drug facilitated sexual assault in which the victim’s memory may be 
impaired, document why the patient believes they were assaulted.   
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Examples of indicators that are acceptable are: 
• SANE exam 
• Forensic evidence collection 
• SAFE 

• “Pt stated they were sexually 
assaulted” 

• Pt details of the sexually assaulted 
 
Unacceptable Indicators are: 

• Pt reported/pt statement • History 
 
12.  Age of Perpetrator – If known, document the age range of the perpetrator. 
 
13.  Drug facilitated sexual assault –If Drug Facilitated Sexual Assault (DFSA) is suspected, it is 
strongly recommended that a urine sample be collected per the DFSA Protocol (Appendix 9). 
 
14.  Indicate if a DFSA sample was collected.   If known, indicate where it was sent for testing.  
If not tested, write “none”.  Hospital laboratories are not capable of measuring single drug 
dosing.  Any testing done must be submitted to an accredited forensic lab.  For suggested labs 
see the DFSA Protocol. 
 
15.  Indicate which exam components were provided. – All exams must be conducted using 
the 2011 Ohio Sexual Assault Protocol for Sexual Assault Forensic and Medical Examinations.  If 
an exam is conducted out of state using a different protocol and kit, document the kit used to 
collect evidence. 
 
Use the chart on the last page of the instructions to determine which forensic exam 
components are mandated in order to qualify for reimbursement under the 2011 Ohio Sexual 
Assault Protocol for Sexual Assault Forensic and Medical Examination. 
 
16.  Document the reasoning for a kit not being collected within the timeframes as suggested 
in the chart referenced in Question 15 - The documentation provided must address the specific 
unique details of the case, and be consistent with the protocol.  Failure to provide this 
information may result in a denial.  Examples of general documentation that is NOT acceptable 
include (but are not limited to) – “law enforcement did not request kit”, “kit not in the best 
interest of the child.” 
 
17. Kit Retrieval – Law enforcement is expected to retrieve all kits in order to maintain a safe 
storage location.  If law enforcement did not retrieve the kit, document the agency/person 
contacted and their explanation for failing to pick up the evidence. 
 
18. Law enforcement reporting – Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 2921.22 (A) & (B)  
requires that health care providers report a sexual assault to law enforcement whether a 
patient chooses to speak with law enforcement or not.  If the adult patient chooses to remain 
anonymous, the provider is mandated to provide the date, time, and general location where 
the assault took place, but not the patient’s name or other identifiers.  The sexual assault 
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forensic exam and reimbursement is not dependent on the patient cooperating with law 
enforcement. 
 
Law enforcement reporting or public children services agency - ORC 2151.421 (A)(1)(a) & (b) 
mandates that all health care providers report child abuse or neglect; investigation and follow-
up procedures are the responsibility of either law enforcement or child protective services.  
Patients 17 years of age and younger are ineligible to file an anonymous report.  Any submitted 
reimbursements in which a report is not made to law enforcement and/or child protective 
services by the medical provider may result in a denial. 
 
19. Incarcerated Patients – All patients confined in a county, city, or federal jail or prison, or in 
any other institution maintained and operated by the Dept. of Rehabilitation and Corrections or 
Youth Services. 
 
20. Suspected Human Trafficking – If the patient presents with indicators of human trafficking, 
note Yes whether they report it or not.  
 
Itemized Statement Submissions - The itemized statement is required to display a dollar 
amount charge for services detailed as: 

• sexual assault forensic examination; or 
• sexual assault evidence collection kit; or 
• SANE exam; or 
• genital/anal examination and photodocumentation; and 
• antibiotic prescription or any prophylaxis given to the patient to prevent sexually 
      transmitted infections.   
 

If using a UB-04 to reflect billable services, language such as “emergency department” or 
“emergency room visit” or “clinic” are sufficient as long as they are under Revenue Code 0929.  
If a different code is used with the above noted language the reimbursement will be denied for 
insufficient SAFE language.  
       
The electronic itemized statement must include the patient name and medical record number 
and/or first six digits of the social security number.  If the itemized statement does not match 
the information submitted on the reimbursement form, it may result in a denial (ex., incorrect 
patient name, DOB, or patient ID number noted on reimbursement form and invoice that are 
different.) 
       
Periodically, chart audits will be performed to determine compliance with the 2011 Ohio  Sexual 
Assault Protocol for Sexual Assault Forensic and Medical Examination and the OAG    
reimbursement policy.   
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Any medical services provided outside of what is eligible for SAFE reimbursement are    
billable to the patient/insurer.  This includes but is not limited to: 

• Plan B (emergency contraceptive) 
• Pregnancy testing 
• HIV prophylaxis 
• Pain relievers 
• Blood work 
• X-rays 
• Any testing related to injuries from the assault 
• See bullet 2 regarding billing for emergency department visit 

 
The patient should be encouraged to fill out an application for the Crime Victims  
Compensation Fund to determine eligibility for reimbursement of medical and other expenses.  
Provide patient with enclosed Crime Victims Compensation card. 
 
Submit to SAFE – Submit the reimbursement form along with the patient’s itemized statement 
to the Ohio Attorney General's Office at 
https://safepublic.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Forms/Logon.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f  

 
If you have questions regarding submission contact the SAFE program at (614) 466-4797. 

https://safepublic.ohioattorneygeneral.gov/Forms/Logon.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2f
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2011 Ohio Sexual  Assault Protocol for Sexual Assault Forensic and Medical Examination mandated 
examination components. 
 
15 or under 
 
No suspicion of sexual contact or penetration,* ejaculation, or the presence of other bodily 
substances (ex. saliva, urine, blood, emesis, etc) 
 

Procedures billable to patient. 
 
Suspicion of sexual contact** but no penetration, ejaculation, or the presence of other bodily 
substances (ex. saliva, urine, blood, emesis, etc) and  
 

Last incident less than 72 hours - Kit billable to SAFE;  
- or - 
Last incident greater than 72 hours – Genital exam*** is billable to SAFE.   

 
Suspicion of penetration, ejaculation, or the presence of other bodily substances (ex. saliva, urine, 
blood, emesis, etc)  and 
 
 Last incident less than 72 hours – Kit billable to SAFE;  

- or – 
 Last incident between 72 and 96 hours – Kit or genital exam*** is billable to SAFE. 

- or – 
 Last incident greater than 96 hours - genital exam*** is billable to  SAFE. 
  
16 or 17 
 
No suspicion of sexual contact or penetration, ejaculation, or the presence of bodily substances (ex. 
saliva, urine, blood, emesis, etc) 
 
  Procedures billable to patient. 
 
Suspicion of sexual contact or penetration, ejaculation, or the presence of other bodily substances (ex. 
saliva, urine, blood, emesis, etc)  and 
 
 Last incident less than 96 hours - Kit billable to SAFE; 
 - or - 
 Multiple incidents greater than 96 hours - genital exam*** is billable to SAFE; 
 - or - 
 Single incident greater than 96**** - procedures billable to patient. 
 
18 and over 
 
 Last incident less than 96 hours – kit billable to SAFE 
 
 Last incident(s) greater than 96 hours**** - procedures billable to patient  
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* “Penetration” means vaginal intercourse; anal intercourse, fellatio, and cunninglingus between persons 
regardless of sex; and, without privilege to do so, the insertion of any part of the body or any instrument, 
apparatus, or other object into the vaginal or anal opening of another. 
 
** “Sexual contact” means any touching of an erogenous zone of another, including without limitation the thigh, 
genitals, buttock, pubic region, or, if the person is a female, a breast, for the purpose of sexual arousal or 
gratification, without privilege to do so.  An exam is billable to the SAFE program if the exam occurred for the 
purpose of gathering physical evidence for a possible prosecution.  Physical evidence may include semen, saliva, 
blood, sweat, hairs, vaginal secretions or other materials potentially transferred during a sexual contact.   
  *** All genital exams must be performed by an approved physician, advanced practice nurse, or registered nurse 
who is an expert in pediatric sexual abuse (see Ohio American Academy of Pediatrics and International Sexual 
Assault Nurse Examiners established criteria in Appendix 5). 
 
**** See page 1 of the Protocol for extenuating circumstances allowing evidence collection greater than 96 hours 
for adults and older adolescents.   
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